Back in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 24th 2006
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me and the TarsiersMe and the TarsiersMe and the Tarsiers

On Bohol, the smallest primates in the world.
Well, I'm back in Bangkok, and this will be my third night here. But let's backtrack a little bit.

Back in Bohol, I mentioned that we saw the Chocolate Hills and some Tarsiers. I'll add some pictures of them here. I forgot to mention the jeepneys. When we went out to Bohol from the airport in Tagbilaran, we took what's called a jeepney from near the airport down to the island. A jeepney is essentially a 1920's looking vehicle, with a very long back that has two benches running along the length on either side. They are generally so full that people literally sit on the roof and hang off the side of the car. I didn't take a picture of one, but here is a link to a picture someone else took so you have an idea.

In Macau within a half hour of stepping out the door in the morning I was being offered "you want massage?" by scantily clad Chinese women. I declined, of course, but when it kept happening I decided I needed to change neighborhoods. It was only about noon that first day when I realized I'd already walked around and seen half of the city, so
Bohol & PanglaoBohol & PanglaoBohol & Panglao

This is a view from one edge of Bohol and you can see the island of Panglao, where we stayed.
I booked my flight out to Bangkok for the next day, then continued to walk around. Macau is similar to Hong Kong - it was a Portuguese colony until a few years ago, and all the shops ans street signs have Portuguese on them, although nobody actually speaks the language. It's all Cantonese, but the little Mandarin I'd picked up in Shanghai was useful enough to get by. Plus there was plenty of English, unlike mainland China.

Now, back in Bangkok, I've just sort of been taking it slow. The first night when I got in it was sort of late, and I had a little trouble finding a place to stay since the places I had considered were all full. Nonetheless, I found a nice little guesthouse for 200 baht per night. Then I met up with my friend Rachel and her friend Meg and we got some dinner at this little place that the two had discovered had good food. Actually, when we got there I realized that I had already eaten there with Pam only two weeks ago. Funny how that worked out.

Yesterday I slept in a bit - I've been feeling sneezy and
Chocolate HillsChocolate HillsChocolate Hills

So named because when the grasses dry up, the hills look like Hershey's chocolate kisses.
I've had a runny nose and some sinus congestion. I'm not sick, I think it's just the dirty Bangkok air. Then I met up with Rachel and we went to Chinatown and walked around. The place was crazy. All these shops were seling the same little things in huge bulk. From there we met up with a bunch of the international students from Thammasat University where Rachel is studying and had a karaoke night in celebration of this guys Adam's birthday.

Today I slept in again, then took the ferry to the opposite end of town to go to the Cambodian embassy to get a visa. But since they were closed for the day, I just walked around Bangkok for the rest of the day - the last seven hours or so I've been walking through the city, and I'm glad to finally be back and off my feet. And indoors away from all the exhaust fumes. Rachel had class for a most of today, and then a dinner with the EAP (UC's international program) students, so I ddn't see her today. I was supposed to go to the dinner, but I didn't make it back to this part
ShitholeShitholeShithole

This is a flattering picture of the place I stayed in Macau. It was stil relatively expensive for Asia, at US$20 per night.
of the city in time, so I grabbed some food from a few different vendors along the way home. I think tonight I'm just going to lay back and read, and maybe grab a beer at one of the nearby bars.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

TabletTablet
Tablet

I think that this is a Chinese "tablet," which is essentially a shrine to a dead ancestor. They burn incense in them, those little red sticks. It is very rude/bad luck in China to stick your chopsticks vertically into a bowl of rice, because it looks like this.
PlazaPlaza
Plaza

This is the plaza adjacent to where I stayed in Macau.
St Paul'sSt Paul's
St Paul's

The remaining face of Saint Paul's church in Macau. Being a Portuguese colony, it is said that Macau may rival Rome in the density of Catholic churches in the city.
UrnUrn
Urn

I just thought this looked cool. It was near St Paul's, at a little Buddhist shrine.
Protestant CemetaryProtestant Cemetary
Protestant Cemetary

This little Protestant cemetary in Macau was near one of the nciest parks I've seen. It's attached to a little Protestant chapel. Both were used by the East India Trading Company, and most of the tombstones were American navy men or employees of the trading company.
Rama VIII BridgeRama VIII Bridge
Rama VIII Bridge

One of the many bridges that crosses the Chao Phraya river in Bangkok.
Bangkok TrafficBangkok Traffic
Bangkok Traffic

Funny that Bangkok, the "City of Angels," rivals Los Angeles in traffic congestion.
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

I thought that this was a pretty cool looking building.


28th August 2006

Well, I've had plenty of Jeepney rides, but never one in a Mercedes Benz Jeepney. Damn thing's probably air conditioned, has upholstered seats, and a licensed driver. Back in the Day, Jeepneys were salvaged 30 year old WW II jeeps with old broken park benches for seats, Jesus, Mary and Joseph glued on the dash, and a driver hell bent on showing the world just who was King of the Road at a roaring 40 mph on the unpaved boulevards of downtown Olongapo City, trailing dust, exhaust, assorted nuts and bolts, and scattered street vendors in its wake. You weren't required to be drunk to ride in one, but it sure helped soothe your nerves if you were.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb