Songkran


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 15th 2014
Published: May 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Waiting for the trainWaiting for the trainWaiting for the train

There's nowhere to sit. This is a rarity.
Songkran is the Thai new year and is marked by a huge water fight for a few days. The water is a cleansing step, like a fresh start; the clay is like a blessing, I'm told. It started in my neighborhood on Saturday but the holiday officially is on Monday and Tuesday. Water fights aren't quite my thing, but from what I could see (from all the people running around with huge water guns, covered in clay) it looks like a lot of fun. Perhaps if I had some friends here to go with, I would. (They've all left for the beach. Like most of Bangkok. Most of the city is pretty quiet this week.) Maybe next year.

Most Thais will be nice if you ask them not to squirt you (I'm clearly unarmed) but there are a few who just don't understand that some people don't like being doused in water or having clay thrown at them. I understand that it's a tradition, but I'm also of the opinion that if I'm not at a site for the water fight and if I'm clearly not carrying anything to throw at you, then throwing a bucket of water or clay
Ready to go!Ready to go!Ready to go!

Well, leave. But they were ready to go!
at me isn't very nice. I'm glad I was warned and double wrapped everything in my purse in plastic bags. I understand now why most foreigners leave the city to avoid it and why many have negative feelings about the celebration. On a bright note, the water dries fairly quickly and the clay washes out of clothing easily.

I stopped at Silom to get a glimpse of the water fight (it's one of two designated areas) and was surprised how large it was. I can't say for sure, since I only looked down from the dry BTS, but I'm willing to guess it was about 1 kilometer long, as well as the full width of the street. I can see why it's called the Largest Water Fight in the World. From what I could see, there were people with water guns everywhere, and lots of things for sale. Everyone had their phone around their neck in special plastic zippered bags. The people on the platform were soaked and covered in clay; the BTS got a bit dirty in the process but I mostly felt bad for the people who were obviously shivering from the combination of AC and water.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The crowdsThe crowds
The crowds

It's hard to see since I took this with my mobile, but this crowd is 6 lanes of traffic wide and really long. Up to a kilometer, I think.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb