Chatuchak


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 12th 2014
Published: April 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After living here nearly a year I finally get to visit the one place I've been itching to go: Chatuchak market. I visited it when I was here doing my CELTA two years ago and I've wanted to return every since. I'm even more interested in it now, since it's been made very clear to me that this is where all the Thais shop for good deals. I had one thing on my shopping list as a “need” and hoped to perhaps find a shirt or two for a good price as well, since I left most of my clothes in China and after 9 months I'm sick of the few shirts I do have. Plus it would be nice to have something a bit nicer and not faded to wear to parties and a nice dinner out.



I arrived around 10am. I'd been hoping to get there earlier, but since I was tired from the previous day I just couldn't move faster. I managed to find a few places selling scarves (my “need” item) but a lot of them were overpriced or better quality than I was willing to pay for. I don't care if it's silk, I just want a plain black scarf! I finally found a stall selling silk scarves and “not silk” scarves. I ended up buying one of those, only to later realize it's cashmere! And it's a huge pashmina. I did better than I thought I did.



I continued looking, enjoying that the crowds were small due to the holiday. Some shops were closed, too, but I guess that's the trade off. I did end up buying a new shirt for a reasonable price and then I found a shop that had lots of dresses, and everything was 100 B! I wasn't in the market for a dress, but for that price I could at least look. I did end up buying a black one with a white stripe, but for about $3 USD I don't feel guilty about it. It's just nice to finally live somewhere that has clothes that fit me and aren't all marked size XXL.



I stopped for some coconut ice cream (the lunch of champions!) and then one last stop at a plant shop. I've always had plants wherever I've lived, so these past 9 months without them have been rather sad. I like having a bit of something green and living in my home! I managed to get 3 little plants with water saucers for 50 B.



I left around 1 or 2 and went to the park next to the market. It felt good to just sit, relax, and people watch. Not being able to go to Lumpini park, it was nice to spend some time in a large green space. Summer is here, it's important to get out and enjoy it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Toddler sized t-shirtsToddler sized t-shirts
Toddler sized t-shirts

Because every two year old needs a Slipknot t-shirt.
They sell everything here!They sell everything here!
They sell everything here!

Even stuff for vendors' stalls.


28th April 2014
Coconut ice cream with mango and sticky rice

Oh, that looks good!
Now you have to try SunKaYa...like your name, it's a greyish custard...once mango season is over.

Tot: 0.379s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 74; dbt: 0.3177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb