Chang beer and norweigan salmon?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 12th 2013
Published: December 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Late morning I went to the polo club with Susan to meet her friend Carol and two of their Thai friends. The polo club is exclusive, only available to upper members of society and you can only join by knowing the right people and paying a lot of money. It has a 50 metre swimming pool, a golf course and a horse-riding track and a nicely air-conditioned restaurant. Susan invited us to lunch there, and then they exchanged Christmas gifts (well really New Year gifts as Thais don’t celebrate xmas but they celebrate New Year.) I had imported salmon (it tasted norweigan rather than Scottish) and crepe with ice cream for dessert. Susan’s friends were friendly and very interesting people. I learned a lot about the thai royal family and the king’s four daughters and one son. I also got the local news about the demonstrations as both Susan’s thai friends took part.



In the afternoon I visited Lumpini park. Carol dropped me off there as she lives near Lumpini heighbourhood. Lumpini parknwas the first public park in Bangkok. It was given by the king for public use as a health park and it’s name Lumpini was taken from the Lumpiniwan district in Nepal, which was the birthplace of Buddha. There are many monuments in the park and it is very big. In my photo there is a Chinese Pavilion, and also there is a shrine to King Rama VI. There is the Thai flag (blue, white and red) and yellos flags (to represent the colour of the king.

On the way back from the park I stopped off in Susan’s local area at a restaurant off Sukhumvit 101/1. I had a lovely meal of sir-fried chicken with lots of vegetables and I tried my first Chang beer. Chang means elephant in Thai


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.422s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0992s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb