Bangkok experiences..


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 14th 2013
Published: July 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today I woke up late, 12pm. I didn't sleep very well as like the other nights. But I got out ASAP, it was a beautiful day and found myself a tuk tuk to take me to Wat Benchamabopit (a buddhist marble temple) about 3.5km away from where I was staying.

However, he wanted to take me to his Tailored suit shop first. He said to me that if he takes 1 person, he gets money for his petrol and if I purchased he would get extra. I said I would do it as I thought, what the heck. It's the experience of Bangkok and what's the worse that could happen? So he took me to this shop, where I got welcomed in and got given a carton of water. I got led into a board room with glass walls where the guy chatted to me and handed me over a booklet of the women's dresses. I was there for at least 20 minutes and at the end I said I was really sorry but nothing was really to my taste, but thanked him for for his time. And I left.

The tuk tuk dude then told me he wanted to take me to one more place - a jewellery store. Hmmm. I just wanted to get to my temples but I said ok.

Well, this wasn't just a £5/10 a jewellery store, this was a proper expensive jewellery store with diamonds, emeralds, gold, white gold and all the rest of it. After a quick browse, I told the lady behind the counter (who was following my every move) that I just didn't have the money for this beautiful jewellery, but thanked her. She was a bit pissed off to say the least that I didn't purchase.

Finally, my young tuk tuk dude takes me to my temples and as he promised in the beginning, he wouldn't charge me extra, just the 60 baht so I was happy.

The sun was shining and I happily walked around the temples (also latched onto a group tour as there was an English speaking guide).

After taking in all the beauty, culture and Buddhas, I walked further on down the road where I came across Dusit zoo. It was only £2 to get in so I thought I would have a nice stroll around looking at animals for the rest of the day, away from the hustle and bustle of the main roads of Bangkok.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb