Bangkok, Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 31st 2013
Published: January 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Dear Grace and Mag,

Been in Thailand for 2 nights and 3 days now and literally (I knew I would say this) I don't know what I was worried about!

I really like Bangkok and have met some really nice people that I have had a right laugh with. We have been shopping, out both nights, eaten food off the carts, ridden boats along the river like a taxi to get from A to B (as you do) and visited some really cool places.

A stand out place for me has got to be Sky Bar. It's where they are in the film Hangover 2. The view is so so amazing and it's a really up market place. We were there for about 2hours, had a beer and enjoyed the view. You can see the entire city and see for miles and can clearly make out the river going right the way through.

When we were out one night I tried a tiny bit of scorpion (crunchy and salty). We were on Khoa San Road where all the tourists are. It was quite good but I think I prefer another area we all found last night because
SAM_0174SAM_0174SAM_0174

Mmm scorpion! Crunchy!
the bars were good but you didn't get approached loads by people selling things as this street was a little quieter.

One bad thing is the traffic - at one time of the day it will take 10 minutes to get somewhere and on the way back it will take an hour and cost loads because of gridlocked roads. Although I think the taxi drivers go around the long way to get money but there's not a lot I can do about that.

Today I went to visit the Grand Palace and OMG I have never seen anything like it. It's so huge and every detail of every wall and ceiling and the outside is spectacular. It's all golden and precious stones so just looks like glitter some of it. The paintings on the walls are amazing too. It was just mind blowing.

So basically - love the people, love the food, love the buildings, love the hostel -(Lub D Silom) It's perfect!!

Getting over night bus up north tonight. Heading for Chaing Mai which will hopefully be a little cooler, it's so humid here.

Love you xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

SAM_0177SAM_0177
SAM_0177

Kirsten on the taxi boat down river


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb