After Every Ending Comes A New Beginning


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 31st 2011
Published: March 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Grand Palace guardsGrand Palace guardsGrand Palace guards

Grand Palace guards
To jump-start my new year, I decided to spend it at Khao San Road,Bangkok - the infamous Backpacker's Mecca. But I wouldn't say that I'm already living a backpacker's life. I travelled during the new year holiday so I spent about 3-4x more than what a regular trip would cost. But it was all worth it.



When I did my check-in at the airport, the guy on the counter asked me why I looked so sad and I was like, "No, I'm not! I'm excited for my trip!" Later when I managed to see myself in the mirror I couldn't deny the fact that he is right - I look awful so I had to take my emergency medication. With another episode of headaches+allergies, I left Singapore light-headed and passed out at the airplane. Lucky for me, that guy made his remark or else I would have just slept through the new year had I not taken my medicine earlier.



Clearing the airport at BKK was a breeze, though it was a long walk out. I got my first enconter of a barely-speaking-any-English cab driver. I did good for this first time, I manage to
Street grubStreet grubStreet grub

Pad Thai, Chang beer and my Chucks
get to the area of my hostel,though not exactly at the hostel as a couple of roads were blocked for the party tonight. I stayed at NapPark and I got a free bed upgade tonight- yay! After resting a bit, I decided to hit the streets. It's not only the main Khao San Road that is all lighted up and ready to party, but also the nearby streets. Bustling with any business imaginable - food, alcohol, massage, tattoes, braids, blinking new year accessories, etc. I settled for some phad thai, satay and some Chang. I kept on walking while eating and drinking as what a lot of the others are also doing.



While on my walk, I managed to drop my phone, my wallet, some money, my license - each from a different location. And each time, someone pointed it to me or returned it back. That's a really cool thing to experience. Little acts of kindness/honesty that endears the people and the place to you. On hindsight, you could say that I was plainly stupid and careless but I blame it on all the meds I took :P



At past 10pm, I ruled
Khao San RoadKhao San RoadKhao San Road

The Lights @ Khao San Road
out partying on the streets. Just too many people and too many things happening at the same time. I walked back and forth trying to listen to the music being played. I can't remember what it was they were playing but I went inside The Club. 10:30pm is still too early to party? Not many people are dancing yet, so I just grabbed my drink and sat at a corner to feel the vibe of the place. And this creepy middle aged western guy was making a pass at me. Duh! I'm not a prostitute, stupid. Oh, the stigma of being a solo female Asian. I was thinking of a way to avoid a confrontation with this old guy, so when I saw the bartender, I ordered myself some expensive drink on a glass-not some beer on a bucket. That kept him away, I am so not within his budget. Haha! With the amount of alcohol going around, I am doing the subtle defense mode. No to head-on collisions tonight. Mental note of the escape routes.



A little past 11, still nothing much is happening but I kinda like the vibe already so I decided to do
Party RockParty RockParty Rock

Partying the end of 2011 and the beginning of 2012
something I always wanted to do - DANCE LIKE NOBODY'S WATCHING IN FRONT OF A CROWD! So I went up the stage, thinking since I'm doing this might as well make it grand. Though it was a bit dark, I was still a bit shy so I closed my eyes and dance in my own world. And before I know it, the dance floor was filled and the stage was already crowded that you keep on bumping someone. I also learned a new quick way to meet the cool people, stepping on someone's foot, elbowing someone, taking their glow in the dark stuff and they're okay with it. More chances are they are the cooler bunch. Introductions here and there, exchanging names and countries, just hanging out with a new gang. Too bad, I'm terrible with names so i can't remember anybody just the bit of info they shared. I just remembered this friendly Thai girl, the hyper European bunch and the polite tattoed guy. It was so much fun and the party was getting crazier as we neared midnight.



We're gonna party like it's 2012 - oh wait, IT IS ALREADY 2012!



I was just having fun dancing and making small talks, when at almost 4am this _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _(country) guy was hitting on me hard. I tried the diplomatic way to fence off his advances, using what little Spanish I learned I told him that we're just there to dance. But he wouldn't stop so when the song ended I left the stage and got a breather. Then later, I couldn't anymore find the group I was originally hanging out with. And watching from the sidelines, I realized that most of the people there are way past drunk and this party is quite wild for my regular self. Being the usually cowardly person that I am, I left without being able to say goodbye to my new friends. Outside, I saw people getting massages at dawn. Oh yeah! That's the way to go after hours of dancing. Too bad no more vacant spot. I managed to drag myself to the hostel which was 2 blocks away.Good thing my subconscious has a better sense of direction.



I woke up to the sound of puking. Arggh, those guys overdid it last night. Thinking back of
A peek @ the Grand PalaceA peek @ the Grand PalaceA peek @ the Grand Palace

little respite from the heat
what I did last night, I realized, I have some blank spots in my memories. It wasn't the drinking or the partying - it's my lack of sense of the present. Note to self: For this new year, I will strive to have more presence of mind and live in the NOW. I was considering if I should get in contact with friends to go sightseeing today but decided otherwise as I'm up early, they must still be tired from last night's celebration. So I set out by myself today on my wannabe backpacker mode.



The Grand Palace is nearby so I decided to walk rather than take a tuk-tuk. A good decision as I get to see some sights on my walk until it became so hot and humid. I got another headache. But if you're travelling it's so easy to put aside whatever you're feeling so I just kept on. I'm a terrible traveller and writer, I can't remember names and facts. So I can't really share much on any relevant information but uncle Google should help us at that. All I can say is that I am AMAZED! And I just skimmed the surface
BlueBlueBlue

Blue tower with the blue sky
at that. The intricate designs, the glowing buildings, the richness of their culture, the mystical monks and so on. It was so much to take in that I lost track of time. Just seeing and feeling everything. But then with the heat, the hordes of people and missing my lunch I'm starting to black out. So I have to leave to get myself some fresh air and sustenance.



Since I left the Philippines, I have always mistaken for a local - a Singaporean(coz I'm wearing glasses), Malaysian and Indonesian. It's because I got my Malay and Spanish heritage. They say they couldn't quite place me - Just that I am definitely Asian-looking. I think now is a good time to test if I can pass myself for a Thai. I just followed where the worshippers were going and found myself on a plaza with some stalls- all local people eating. So I go to a store, point at something someone just ordered before me, paid using a larger bill, and find my seat. All the while everyone is talking non-stop in Thai. I don't have a clue what they're saying. I just smile at them. My cover was busted when an auntie decided to talk to me directly. She was asking me a question that is not answerable by a smile or a nod, looking at my stupid smiling face, she started to talk to me in English. Busted! I can say that I always passed for a local until I have to say something.



The afternoon til evening was spent shopping at Chatuchak. Note to first time shopper, if you see something you like, buy it. You can't say I'll just come back for it lated, 'coz you will not find your way back. Haggling is commonplace but if you cannot haggle like me, you should still buy. It's cute, it's different and is still cheaper than buying it back home.



I went back to the hotel and tried to cram everything into my backpack. Grabbed some phad thai again and tried Singha. Checked out another club- boring. Then get myself an authentic Thai Massage. Yeah, the good life.



I woke up early for my flight back. I walked through Khao San Road one more time to be greeted by another new sight - barefoot monks doing
Mystic monksMystic monksMystic monks

Girls, no touching the monks
their morning rounds. I forgot to take pics. I was just staring and when one monk passed me, I don't know if I should also give alms. Forgot to read that part of the guide book and don't want to do anything that may be offensive, so I settled again for the clueless,stupid tourist look. Then, I have to rush to the airport, for my flight back to Singapore.



Way to end 2011 and start 2012. Looking back, I am so thankful for all the blessings God has bestowed to me the past year. I look forward to His grace every new day. And pray that I may learn to live in the present and make the most of the fleeting time I have here on earth.







.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Kids @ KSRKids @ KSR
Kids @ KSR

What are these kids doing at a crowded party night in Khao San Road?
Pandan ChickenPandan Chicken
Pandan Chicken

Delicious Airport meal @ Silom Village Restaurant
Quick bitesQuick bites
Quick bites

Grabbed some crepes (kanom buang) and mango shake. Mango from the Philippines is still the best for me.


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb