Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 6th 2011
Published: May 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Bangkok! After nearly 20 hours of travel, I got here, but not the way I'd expected!

On arrival at YVR airport, I was informed that my flight was overbooked. Had my first flight to Hong Kong been my final destination, they would have given me a $500 coupon to go on a later flight. But since I had a connection to catch to Bangkok, they rerouted me through Tokyo, with arrival in Bangkok set back about 40 min. The catch--I had to be bumped up to business class for the first leg. Tough! i got one of these reclining bed-time seats that has all the perks, and all the service, beginning with the executive lounge in the airport.

Landed in Bangkok at 9:30 pm. Couldn't believe how smooth, and fast immigration was, a speed superseded only by that of the taxi that took me from there to the hotel in the tourist zone. Wow, was that ever still a beehive of activity at 10:30--almost reminded me of Vegas. Apparently it stays that way right until the bars close at around 2 am. Hadn't had a decent body clock transition (Bangkok is 14 hrs. different from BC), so didn't sleep
Wat of the Emerald BuddahWat of the Emerald BuddahWat of the Emerald Buddah

Yup, that's me in front of the golden spire
all that well last night. But I was determined to make as much as possible out of my only full day in this mega-city, so headed off to downtown and the sites by mid-morning today.

Site seeing in Bangkok is all about architecture--religious architecture. There are amazingly many "wats" (Buddhist Temple compounds) around. And all are done with amazing detail, and expense, There is a common architectural theme, but each is different, as the photos will show (if I can get them uploaded).

It's incredible what the people of past centuries put into their religious symbols. It reminded me of my trip to New York, where we marveled at the expense (marble, especially), that had been put into the buildings. I suppose, in similar fashion, they are shrines to that other god--wealth. But the shrines to the Buddhist gods here, are way more impressive. Gold everywhere--many Buddahs in gold in every Wat (Okay, I only visited three of the many). The reclining Buddah was something like 150 ft long and 50 ft. high--all gold, At the last Wat I visited, I could climb stairs (very steep) to half-ways up the spire, for some grand views.

I also
Royal PalaceRoyal PalaceRoyal Palace

One of many buildings
visited the royal palace. Thailand is a "Kingdom" And the people revere their leaders. Of course, I didn't get to see everything there, but, again, the architecture reflected the (architectural) theme, as well as the religious one.

The other highlight of the day was river-boating on the river which provides a tremendous amount of the transportation and commercial business. It is crowded with boats, much moreso even than the Thames. But I suppose my impression is limited by the small amount of traveling I've done. I'm sure there are many other places with river traffic like this--Shanghai, Venice, the Nile, the Mississippi and the Amazon come to mind that I haven't seen.

But it was very hot, and I began feeling tremendously lethargic by mid-afternoon (even before I climbed those stairs). The lack of proper body clock adjustment was aiding that feeling, too. So I cut out somewhat early. By 3 p.m. I started making my way back down river to the sky-train station, and when I got back to the hotel, had one good afternoon nap.

Tomorrow I head to Vietnam, and will hopefully find some good internet cafes there. Only brought my blackberry along, and
Wat PhoWat PhoWat Pho

Multiple lesser spires. This is the temple of the reclining Buddah
that's not too good for blogging.





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Busy river sceneBusy river scene
Busy river scene

taken from Wat Arun
Unique BKK airportUnique BKK airport
Unique BKK airport

celebrating its 4th anniversary


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb