Thailand! (泰国) Day 1.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 11th 2011
Published: April 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

A local temple.A local temple.A local temple.

Water guns and clay painting...
Thailand is...an incredible place, filled with amazing cultures and people. I had a wonderful time there. I learned so much, not only about other cultures and lifestyles, but about myself.

I spent the first full day in Bangkok wondering around with some French college students I met on the street; we took our time taking in the sights, sounds and smells of local street markets. We then walked into some small locals temples (which was great for me, because there were virtually no tourists inside them, except for us), and ate delicious Pad Thai out of coconut bowls.

Also, I paid about six USD for an authentic full-body Thai massage! Thai massages are very different from what Americans think of when they think of massages...the masseur actually bends and contorts the patient's body in different ways.

As I was looking around one of the local temples, some very hyper-active Thai children began spraying me with water guns and rubbed clay all over me! It's a good thing I knew a little bit about the Thai new year before I came to Thailand; otherwise, I probably would have went into shock. Haha. But, during the Thai new year, water
A local temple.A local temple.A local temple.

"Rey" really loved my camera. Haha.
spraying and clay painting are common rituals observed by the Thai people.

So, it's a good thing I stopped at the temple to rest my feet. Because of that, I met some awesome kids, and was able to play with them in their backyard until dusk. Even though they couldn't speak English, and I couldn't speak much Thai, we somehow understood each other.

They taught me how to make offerings to the Buddha in a Theravada temple; I taught them how to say "gum" and "camera." The whole experience was...rewarding.

I'm *so* glad that I wondered around aimlessly through Thai neighborhoods and slums that day. I wanted more than anything to experience the real Thailand, not some fake facade put on by the bright lights of the tourism industry. I wanted to meet and talk with people in the poorer parts of Thailand, whom I'm sure most tourists shy away from.

It's in these parts of other countries where travelers can *really* learn something new. Tourism is...almost a branch of Western culture. And personally, I think the hearts of the locals lie elsewhere.

And I learned a lot about the Thai new year, through participant
A local temple.A local temple.A local temple.

She called herself "Anna." :-)
observation!

I also visited the China Town of Bangkok that night, and in a way, felt at home. I actually understood the language people were speaking!


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

A local temple.A local temple.
A local temple.

遊んでいる!
Amana Hostel.Amana Hostel.
Amana Hostel.

Walking out.
A local temple.A local temple.
A local temple.

Me and "Anna."
A local temple.A local temple.
A local temple.

In front of the wat.
A local temple.A local temple.
A local temple.

"Rey" asking me to pose...again...
A local temple.A local temple.
A local temple.

Happy Thai new year!
Wat Samphanthawongsaram Worawiharm. Wat Samphanthawongsaram Worawiharm.
Wat Samphanthawongsaram Worawiharm.

Again, His Majesty, Bhumibol Adulyadej.
Wat Samphanthawongsaram Worawiharm. Wat Samphanthawongsaram Worawiharm.
Wat Samphanthawongsaram Worawiharm.

lol These horses had some booty!
A local temple.A local temple.
A local temple.

Somewhere near China Town.
Bangkok's China Town.Bangkok's China Town.
Bangkok's China Town.

Finally...a language I could understand!
Bangkok's China Town.Bangkok's China Town.
Bangkok's China Town.

Yummy authentic Thai spring rolls.


12th April 2011

Boyfriend
Lindsay, You did not tell us his name or show us a picture. Tell us more about him. Do you have plans to see him again? Grandma

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb