The Ending


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 31st 2010
Published: October 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone I am back in Bangkok at my old hotel the Taipan which has wifi in the rooms. So just to catch you up todate. I stayed in Hua Hin until yesterday morning, supposed to stay two days ended up being there for ten. I will see if I can add some pictures today. Hua Hin has a population of 40 k and I am told there are almost 10% from other countries. One jewler told me they are the ones,besides tourists that keep him open. I got to see some of the resorts, the Hilton which was across the street from me was easily a five star, they even had security check with mirrors under every car/ truck that entered. They had I think they call them an infinity pool that was two levels and when you looked from the top it looked like it flowed right into the ocean. Other resorts were almost as nice.

The weather did take quite a change last week, we went from very hot and very humid, to hot and wind. The p aper said the prevailing winds did there normal switch and now this part of the country can expect highs of 24 -27 and ows of 17 for thenext six weeks to two months. It was very windy in Hua Hin, it had the ocean really churned up and the beach was taking quite a beating. Other place inthe country they are experiencing the worst flooding in a lifetime. Many villages are under water, trains are not running and roads are washed out all over the place. Bangkok has been mostly spared becasue of a flood way they have like WInnipeg and becasue the tides did not reach expected levels. Still outside my hotel there are a bunch of sand bags ready just in case.

Took the mini bus, a expanded van, back to Bangkok yesterday, trip was 2.5 hours compared to the five on the train! It dropped me off close to the skytrain and I was able withouth a map to make my way back to the hotel. Bangkok is not really as scary as people would leave you to believe.

Well the big news is that I am heading back to Canada tomorrow. I was supposed to volunteer for a month and kind of relax for two. Well I have relaxed for seven weeks and
Beach HorsesBeach HorsesBeach Horses

The unique thing here is these riders are on the beach all days selling rides on the horse or if you are really a city slicker they will take your pictuRE ON OR NEAR THE HORSE FOR A FEE!
because I did not find a volunteer position I made the decision to heaad back. Becasue I am flying Aeroplan I had to take the ticket for tomorrow orwait till the end of November so I am heading out will be back in Dartmouth Tuesday morning. I must say I am very sad to leave and I would be easily convinced to come back. My horescope today in the Bangkok paper said due to an exotic vacation you will change your lifestyle!!
I think there is some truth to that. If I can find any space I will bring back the editorial from that same papeer that really blasts Judeo Christian societies for the damage they have done to the world by promoting wars, looking for profits etc etc. It is obviously one person's opinion but after what I saw here and what I know we have the article hit close to home.

Anyway I will sum up this blog when I get home, but I encourage anyone who is thinking of coming to Thailand to come and visit. My only advice is give yourself time to adjust when you get here and get to speak to as many Thais as you can whether they are the guys in the airport the taxi drivers, staff in bars etc. Most are really willing to talk, there views on work, family, needs are very interesting and some are quite opposite to we think or have experienced.

That is it for now, see you all soon!


Barry

Advertisement



18th December 2010

Favorite Place
Wow! So you had a nice time in my favorite place! I just loved my stay there and choose accommodation rooms from an online hotel reservation agency that offers great discounts with a range of budget hotels in Hua Hin and hotels in Hua Hin,

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb