Day 54-57 Kolkata to Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 6th 2010
Published: September 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

On the Road 1On the Road 1On the Road 1

Goodbye India
Day 54 Kolkata to Bangkok (Thurs 26th Aug)

Another border crossing today! Fortunately we are flying this time and it is always easier to get through in an airport than it is at the land borders.

Our flight was late morning so we allowed plenty of time to get to the airport, which was about an hour from our hotel. Our bags had to go through security and get security tagged before we checked in and then we had to change our money. Apparently Indian Rupees are restricted currency so we can’t change them elsewhere.

Changing money was interesting. Much like in the Mediterranean countries, they don’t know the meaning of the word ‘queue’ here. It was chaos, but I did manage to squeeze my way in until I got to the window. And when some guy went to shove me out the way, another Indian gentleman blocked him off and kindly moved everyone else out of my way. Don’t let it be said that no-one has manners in this country.

The flight was a few hours and everyone was quite taken with the plane. It was comfy and it had games! I think quite a few
On the Road 2On the Road 2On the Road 2

Our luxurious coach
of the group spent a lot of time doing quizzes and playing ‘who wants to be a millionaire’. Great fun and kept us busy all through the flight.

So this is the biggest time difference to date, we went forward 1.5 hours when we arrived in Thailand. I really like the small gradual steps with the time zones - no jet lag.

Thailand!! Yay. Our first big surprise was being met by our guide (a friendly lady named Ou) and being led out to a HUGE bus. With clean windows, reclining seats (enough for everyone to have their own double) and even extending footrests. You won’t understand how incredibly happy this little fact made everyone! Well, not unless you've just done three days of dawn til dusk travel in a full-to-capacity minibus with unreliable air conditioning...I would concede that you might understand then.

It wasn’t all that far to our hotel, less than an hour. And it really was a novelty to arrive while the sun was still up!

After settling in to our very nice rooms in a very nice hotel, we went out for the evening. We started with a walk down Soi Cowboy,
Out in Bangkok 1Out in Bangkok 1Out in Bangkok 1

Those buckets can be lethal
also known as the prostitute bar street. Its a street of bars and each one has a dozen scantily dressed ‘ladies’ out the front. Most of them are amazingly beautiful but we certainly didn’t stick around for long.

We then took a wild tuktuk ride (these are my favourite ever mode of transport!) to see a ‘Ping-Pong show’. Jo had been adamant that she wanted to see it and so we all thought we would go. Well, to say the least it was interesting. Not a sex show, like in Amsterdam. More of a...performance. Of a sort. Kind of. How the hell did they prevent those bells from tangling?. Enough said I think...

After the show we went to Koh San road, which is the main bar road. Its the one road where they aren’t too strict with the alcohol curfew. Full of tourists mingling with the locals trying to sell you just about everything. Some really nice bars though and we were there till late.



Day 55 Bangkok

Well, I have a whole lot of nothing to say about today. I had been up to all hours of the morning talking with friends back home and getting my whole year’s quota of bad news all at once. Needless to say, I didn’t feel like going out today. I did take a walk around with Helen to get some banana pancakes for dinner though.



Day 56 Bangkok (Sat 28th Aug)

I opted to take it easy today as well. I did get out of the hotel to go for a walk around the hotel area. We are in a fairly central area, right near the Koh San road. Not too far from any of the important sites.


Day 57 Bangkok

Our last full day in Bangkok today. A few of the girls went out to the Tiger Temple (about 3 hours form Bangkok) and I did want to go but I wanted to see some of the Bangkok Temples as well while in the city. Apparently it was well worth the drive for them, but I had a really good day regardless.

So after a very leisurely breakfast, I got a tuktuk out to Wat Poh where there is a huge temple complex and the reclining Buddha (a golden statue which is very, very long). And
Out in Bangkok 3Out in Bangkok 3Out in Bangkok 3

"Just one more" my ass
upon entering this absolutely amazing place I made a discovery. I had forgotten one little object which left me hitting my head against a stone wall (actually it was more a marble wall). Any guesses what it was? Yep, that’s right - my camera. I actually forgot my camera. This of the girl who has, for the past 6 years, carried her camera around with her everywhere - even to work! Oh well. It was amazing though. Even if I don’t have pictures, it will be hard to forget the majesty of the complex.

I got back to the hotel just as everyone else did. Matt convinced everyone except Tomas and Helen to go out for “just one drink” because it was our last night. Yes, hmmmm. Well. You can imagine how this is going to end yes? Not going into details here, but a bar or two later...and a ‘bucket’ (of cocktail) or two later...and a few dances...and about 100 photos...rooftop bar...live music...a gorgeous Indian guy with a migraine...

And I did in fact make it back to the hotel by 0415, just in time to shower and pack before our 0500 departure...











Advertisement



Tot: 0.482s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb