Found Myself in BKK


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 26th 2010
Published: June 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It seems that when you travel, you are trying to look for yourself. And I can say that I've found myself, my 'true' self, here in Thailand. I have been traveling here in Asia for the past few years of my teenage life. When I was told that we were going to Thailand, back in March '08, I got really excited. I got to know myself here in Thailand, and I had so much fun. Even if most Thai people don't speak English, I didn't have a hard time looking for the places I needed to see. I guess the fact that the roads are mostly built for tourists and tourist information are made accessible via booths in almost every street in Bangkok, made it easier for me. I love this country because it offers you good food, cheap clothing and nice places to see. When I got back to the Philippines, I craved for almost everything Thai at my table; sweet, spicey, salty! My best advice for you is to try their street food. You will taste the authentic chicken satay, Thai iced tea, shrimp paste rice and papaya salad. You can also taste the best fruits in the world like mangosteen, lansones, melon and tamarind. As for clothes, if you love to look for cheap ones, you should try shopping at Pratunam or Chatutchak Weekend Market.

Bangkok is the most travelled place in SoutEast Asia by Europeans. Tourism is the main income of the country. If you like going to the beach, it would be nice if you go to Phuket or Pattaya. If you are looking for history and culture, you can go to Ayuttaya where you can see temples and Buddhist monks. And of course, your Thai trip wouldn't be complete if you don't hitch a ride from an elephant! For a reasonable price of about 500 baht or $10, you'd get to try this ultimate ride!

I love going to Thailand and I wish to go here every year until I am 60. I have found myself and I wish to live here for at least a year or two just to learn the all the cooking, language and culture (including Elephant rides every now and then! 😱)

Travel Tips:
Accommodation: Amari Hotel, Baiyoke Sky Hotel, Botique Hotels
Food: Pad Thai, Papaya Salad, Chicken Sa Thai, (Best Street Food EVER)
Shoppi ng: Bargain Shop at Pratunam, Chatuchak Weekend Market
Tourist Spots: Grand Palace, What Pho, Lumpini Park, Elephant Nature Park,
Transportation: By Airplane via Cebu Pacific, Philippine Airlines, Thai Airways
Budget Estimation: P15000 to P30000




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



26th June 2010

i'm glad that you love Thailand

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb