Seoul to Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 10th 2010
Published: May 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Landed in Thailand from South Korea. I had more pieces of luggage than I planned but I couldn't check everything in. I took some Snacks with me, wonder if I'll actually eat it all or if I'm just wasting space. oh well.

It is too expensive to travel by plane to Siem Reap/Angkor Wat ($230) so I am traveling by bus and Taxi ($65 max). Between customs/eating/resting/beer/getting info it took me almost 2 hours to leave the airport.
I took a taxi and got to the North bus station where it took 3 Thai men to sell me a used phone. Spend $30 on the phone plus another $12 for the sim card and value on the prepaid. Called my uncle. Free wi-fi allowed me to check my e-mail on my Droid (at least it isn't a dead weight).

Got on the bus and met 2 women from Switzerland, Christy and Sylvie. They are traveling Cambodia for 2 weeks. Christy actually lived there for 4.5 years more than 10 years ago. She gave me some good hints on how to travel and what I should not miss in Cambodia. I talked to them and we arranged to share a car to Siem Reap and to share a TukTuk to a guest house.

Took almost 5 hours to get to Aranya Prathet at the Cambodia border (9:45pm). We arrived and found a TukTuk to take us to a guest house. We were slightly desperate since it was getting late and few drivers were around so Christy picked a young woman who we negotiated price and details of the guest house first and then got on board.

There is gonna be a lot of down time traveling the buses/trains/planes around southeast asia. Looking forward to staying put for several days somewhere but I think I have another week of being a vagbond.

My first TukTuk ride. All three of us has large travel backpacks which we piled on top of each other and climbed aboard. not much traffic at that hour so it was a smooth short ride. We arranged for a pick-up at 7am from the same driver and headed in to get our rooms.

I have now idea what the name of that guest house was but it wasn't all that great. There were mosquitoes in the room with me so I had to wear mosquito repellent to bed. I decided to pay the $3 for the internet service which looking back now i realize was a rip off. sent a few e-mails and a FB update, then washed what I had been wearing that day and went to bed.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb