A Hair Raising Experience in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 27th 2007
Published: March 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post


We arrived in Bangkok in the early hours after getting the night bus/ferry from Ko Tao and stayed in the same Bangkok hotel as before, the New Siam II. We checked in at 6am and certainly got our money's worth that day :-)

Bangkok didn't seem as stressful as before and we actually felt quite comfortable this time around. It is amazing how familiar surroundings can put you at ease straight away.

I had planned on having a bit of pampering and have my hair coloured and cut whilst in Bangkok so that I would arrive in the UK looking my best. Chad and I went into a salon in the MBK, which is a huge shopping centre. The salon I chose looked really trendy and everyone had free internet access even for Chad). After a few minutes of trying to explain that I wanted highlights and a cut, which involved talking to about 5 people, we were off. They sat me down in front of this massive monitor and then got started. It was cool having internet access whilst having my hair as I was able to talk to Nicola on Messenger at the same time :-) I had two ladies working on my hair and they seemed nice enough. Was a bit worried that we hadn't discussed the whole colour thing but thought that they must know what they are doing.

After about 15 minutes, I looked up to see one of the ladies wheeling over the heater thingy. I looked up into the mirror and saw that they had put the foils on the blonde bits of my hair and left the dark roots..... nooooooooooooo. This is how our conversation went:

Me: emmmmmmmm, you haven't coloured the dark bits
1st lady: frowns
Me: pointing to my roots and saying "blonde here please"
2nd lady: frowns
Me: pointing to my blonde bits and saying "same, same"

More people arrive and I explain that I need the roots coloured, etc

4th lady: lots of thai words to the other women. She then tells me that they can't get close to the roots as it will spot. She then tells me that they have put brown on my hair.
Me: so I have brown on my hair and not blonde then? I then point to her hair and say "brown"???
4th lady: yes, brown.

Me: ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Her version of "brown" is actually blonde for some strange reason.
Me: there is no point me having blonde on the ends as it won't look any different!

After more thai talking the 1st/2nd ladies then start to unfold the foils and proceed to push them up my head and try to spread the colouring up to my roots! eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek ! By now I was starting to stress out. I even emailed Chad and said that they didn't know what they were doing! Luckily they couldn't read english! I asked the 4th lady if they had actually done foils before but she just frowned at me and said the ladies hadn't finished with my hair yet.

When the foils came out, (some of them actually fell out!) I had lovely (not) random bleached stripes on my hair ! I was going to have a cut as well but thought better of it.

I don't think I will ever have my hair done again in Thailand!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb