The Grand Palace


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 4th 2010
Published: February 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After arriving at our hotel around 3:30 in the morning, we slept in late, and then enjoyed the breakfast that came with our room: toast with butter and jam, watermelon, pineapple, and tea. I did nothing productive in the morning since I was still a bit groggy and unused to the heat. We went out for lunch and I ordered the first of what will be many shrimp Pad Thai dishes and coconut shakes. Margot and Julie both got various curry dishes.

In the afternoon, Margot and I went to the Grand Palace. Julie had already visited it more than once and opted to stay back and relax with a book. Our entire journey (on foot) to the palace we were harassed by men telling us we couldn't go to the palace because our legs were showing; then they would offer us a boat ride. Right.

At the palace, I had to rent a skirt since my knee-length shorts were considered inappropriate. Julie said it's because I need to wear a skirt in the palace, not because they weren't long enough. They made men wear pants and everyone had to cover their shoulders.

The Grand Palace was amazing. Every turn yielded something breathtaking. The emerald Buddha was a highlight. It looked radiant as it seemed to glow a faint green. The other rooms were ornate. The sheer volume of color and massive size of the buildings was astounding. The complex seem to go on forever. I also found the throne room to be awing. The throne was black stone inlaid with what looked like white jewels; it sparkled.

After the palace we met Julie and got fresh fruit smoothies and went shopping. I had packed light and had brought no beachware. In my defense, I didn't own any. I couldn't find a beach dress (to go over the suit) but I did find my favorite flip-flops to replace the crappy ones I bought in China last year a size too big. My new ones are so much more comfortable and cost half of what I would have paid in the US! I bought a journal, too. Sadly it has lines in it, but the blue fabric is lovely. It's what I'll be writing in for the trip before I head home and type it all up.

For dinner I had curry and drank Chang beer. Awesome and delicious and a perfect first day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 86; dbt: 0.2022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb