My first Bug


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 18th 2010
Published: January 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

fresh food out on ice ready to cook
well today I ate my first grasshopper and although I don't have any pics of the actrual bug I can say it was a crispy, slash crunchy delicious bug😊 not bad at all, although its not my favorite snack i will for sure eat it again. as for school here its a joke the introduction to a class was as follows, " I know you are here to travel so if you do not come to class I will not be mad or will not flunk you as long as you are here for the midterm and the final exam." crazy huh. so in reality I only have class on Mondays cause the rest of the teachers don't care as much. I am adding here the vibrant colors of the street vendors food. Its pretty incredible how much food is on the streets! I mean its like food carts on steroids and well half the time I have no clue what I am eating so far there hasn't been anything I didn't like. Also here are some pics of a trip I took along the river and some monks on the ferry. The interesting thing about the monks being on public transit is that women cannot touch them while they are out on the street because if they do they have to pray for forgiveness for a month. Also I went to a budhist temple and all I can say is that it was a very peaceful experience just sitting there in silence and meditating. I also followed along a crowd of people and got holy water thrown at me by a monk and then handed a string that is said to be for protection, I mean it is a great experience. I am going to Vietnam next Thursday and will for sure be updating the blog on the adventures in another country!


Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

little cake/ omelets
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

fried chicken from heaven!! screw KFC thai fried chicken so much better
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

grilled bananas! you can find these in Ecuador and also in Thailand!! small world
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

flowers for offerings to budha
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

thai donughts
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

pork grinds or better yet Chicharrones
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

pad thai in mass
Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

dumplings hmmmm
Photo 19Photo 19
Photo 19

corn!!
Photo 20Photo 20
Photo 20

fried goodness
Photo 21Photo 21
Photo 21

corn thingies
Photo 22Photo 22
Photo 22

food in a bag just pick up and go


21st January 2010

This sounds like USFQ...
Heheh, I remember another university with such a stringent emphasis on academics. You do what needs to be done. Just as a quick warning via the discovery channel, the river canals in Bangkok are hella polluted, as is almost all untreated water. Hopefully, a monk wouldn't poison you, but if anyone else throws water you'd better duck.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb