Thai boxing


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 19th 2009
Published: February 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tonight I went to see some some thai boxing. I took the boat to go all the way to Kaoh San and walked to the stadium from there.

Prices for the tickets were 1000/1500/2000 bahts (50/75/100 AUD or 25/33/50 Euros). I had no idea so I took the cheapest. I ended up behind a fence and I think it's worth paying 1500 to get on the other side.

There are 10 matchs in an evening, starting a 6:30. The best one (with the stars) is at 9:30. The stadium is full of Thai men who really enjoy the show. It's loud and everybody shouts. The sound itselt is a great experience 😊 Everybody semms to bet hundreds of bath but I did not understand how it works. Right hand is to bet on the red guy, left is for the blue guy. The number of finger somehow indicates the amount of the bet. I'm not too sure how the guy can remember who did what but hey it looked like it works :p

A few people play some music with beats that go faster after each rounds (5 rounds of 3min, each followed by a 2min pause). The first round is more like a warm up, and fighters seem to take it easy. The crowd shouts "HIK" at every kick. I've heard it means "Fight" in Thai.

I left at 10pm, It was not finished but I was getting tired and for a Farang like me, the fights started to look similar anyway 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb