Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 19th 2009
Published: February 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post


We flew into BK at 6am in the morning and 2 hours later we were on the Koh San rd looking of somewhere to stay. I had been here 8 years ago and as we walked up the street I asked a guy where the Koh San rd was to which he replied you’re on it. I couldn’t believe how much it had changed almost beyond recognition. It was very different clean and full of bars and restaurants. Tourism is big business in Thailand now and BK has reaped the benefits as well in part I think loosing part of its identity slightly.

Pam went straight to bed but I couldn’t sleep. I went for a walk and enjoyed in contrast to our home in India for the past 4 and a half months the cleanliness and then they found me….

Those curvaceous golden arches and just under them that cheeky chappy old Ronald mac Donald. He winked at me and said “hey Stu you look hungry and its been so long since you’ve eaten meat sure why don’t you come in and tuck into an auld big mac meal, a large one and sure go on and get 2 cheese burgers and a few of those little chicken nugget fellas too!” Ok Ronald I replied sure I deserve it!!!!

We had a great 24 hours in BK and savored being back in civilization even if it was quite over whelming as the madness of the last 4 and a half months in India began to sink in. Holy Good bye to the Ganges. Next stop Manila the Philippines.
Keep reading and stay in touch.
Stu and Pam


Advertisement



20th February 2009

WE LOVE YOU
Jacques and I met pam and Stu in Goa where they were doing nothing but living it up like irish ex pats (i.e. booze, booze and more booze without a bit of culture in sight). And we fell in love with both of them. Its great to see the travelblog updated - loved the bit about Pam being very calm on your 8 bus journeys to the hill station.... yes and the Pope's not a catholic. I couldn't understand the apparent bewilderment over the fact that you would get sooo pissed on that bottle of rum - I seem to remember a bottle of neat whisky (well with maybe just a pretence of a dash of coke) being consumed on New year's Eve. Jacques said "My God that woman can drink" as he and Pam carried on partying after Stu and I had collapsed (not together!!!). Keep doing your blog as I have been looking at it (such is my sad and lonely life). All time favourite was photo of Pam wiping buffalo shit off her boot -there should have been a caption of her saying "for fucks sake Stu, why are we doing this?" Has he proposed to you yet Pam? (stir, stir) Or is that a later instalment - apparently they do fabulously cheap and huge diamonds in Phillipines....

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb