Restored faith


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 29th 2009
Published: January 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

-Happiness is when you don’t want to go to sleep because reality is better than a dream-


Dec ember 22, 08, adventure to Asia began with a 7.5 hour flight to Singapore where I got my first moments of shut eye on the airport floor and then a 2.5 hour flight to Bangkok.

As we emerged from the airport the “where you go”’s began. Luckily my friend Nik had informed me of the cheapest option available and, as if we knew what we were doing, we bypassed the chaos and made our way down to the bus.

As we arranged our luggage Jenn says to me “can you put the camera in your bag?” I could NOT but as a yes person I agreed to hang on to it and slipped it under my bad so it would not slip off my lap as I dozed on the bus.

We got to the train station and booked our train to Krabi after many confusing arrangements with “helpful” women. Feeling good about our success at cheap transport we hoped in a cab and headed to a plaza. As we drove down the street I suddenly had the horrible realization that I had left Jenn’s camera on the bus. SHIT.

Panic set in and I considered the options I had to make it up to her as I hopefully called the bus station.

As luck would have it the phone was answered by a man who spoke English. He informed me that the driver had in fact found the camera and if I waited at the same corner I had been dropped off at, he would return it to me in one hour.

Wait I did...for 2 hours. When the bus finally arrived I jumped on and frantically gestured for the camera. “No” was the response I got. SHIT SHIT. Heartbroken I took the advice of a stranger and went across the street to the office. Here the woman informed me that the bus with my camera would be here in an hour and so I resumed my place of wait with the tuk tuk drivers.

40 minutes later another bus pulled up and I jumped on frantically gesturing once again. This time the wonderful bus driver pulled the camera from his bag as I thanked him repeatedly and gave him a tip. I then took a picture of him and skipped with a smile on my face to show Jenn. I could not believe I had gotten it back and my faith in the trip was restored.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb