4 Days in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 13th 2006
Published: January 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Taipei 101Taipei 101Taipei 101

The Tallest Building in the World. Taipei, Taiwan
I have been in Bangkok for 4 days and I feel like it! My head is pounding because I had a few too many Sanghas and White Russians with some Swiss people I met at the Volk Bar (a small bar made out of a converted Volkswagon Bus) last night. I woke up this morning in my little box of a room, which was about 120 degrees, and really wanted to die. Even my daily freezing cold shower and American breakfast couldn't make me feel better. But oh well...it was a good night!
The trip has been good so far. It took me quite a while to get out here though. I flew 11 hours from Honolulu to Taipei, Taiwan where I missed my connecting flight to Bangkok. No big deal though...it's funny how less stressed I am when I really have nowhere to be at any given time. I was stuck in Taipei for about 8 hours, so I hired a car and driver to take me on a tour of the city. This guy I met on the plane came with me to see Taipei 101, the tallest building in the world. Pretty amazing view from the top. It turned out to be a not so bad layover.
By the time I got to Thailand I had been traveling for almost 26 hours. I got to my guesthouse in the Banglamphu (the backpackers ghetto of Bangkok) and crashed hard.
The next day I had to run around and get my Loas visa and stuff like that...and since then I have just been out siteseeing around the city. The Banglamphu area of Bangkok is this great place with little alleyways filled with guesthouses, resturants, used book shops, internet cafes...pretty much anything a traveler needs. This is also where Th Khao San is...which is the street you probably think of when you think of Bangkok. Neon lights, loud music, fake rolexs and handbags, pirated software...pretty much anything you can think of. It's very easy to get anywhere in the city from here because it is right on the Chao Phraya river, so you just catch the ferry to wherever you want to go.
I had my very first massage yesterday...and I have to stick to what I've always said...I just don't like them (sorry Lisa). I went to the Wat Pho Thai Massage School, which is where all the best massage therapists in Thailand are trained...and I just wasn't into it. Oh well.
Well, I am off to go nurse my hangover somewhere cool...if I can find anywhere cool...it's so damn hot! I take a bus through the night to Chumpon in the south...then a high speed boat to Koh Tao early tomorrow morning...can't wait for the beach!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



13th January 2006

I see you have beers in hand....
Cruizin the world with cocktail in hand. You make me sooo proud! Great pics as usual and travel safely!

Tot: 0.382s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb