Update from Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 7th 2008
Published: October 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Family and friends,

As some of you turn on your evening news tonight, you may see news reports of civil unrest from Bangkok and begin to freak out because you read our last update that said we were heading to Bangkok.

First and foremost--WE ARE SAFE and SOUND.

The news reports will reflect that thousands of demonstrators are blocking access to the Parliment building here in Bangkok. These demonstrators are from the People's Alliance for Democracy (PAD).

Right now, we are one block off of Khao San Road which is located about 2KM from the Parliment building.

In a couple of hours we will be heading to the train station to board an overnight bus to Chiang Mai. This is a 9 hour bus ride so we will be far from the craziness. We actually planned this trip, so we are not running from anything.

Rest assured we are safe and we will check the situation out before we depart from Chiang Mai.

We know many of you are very concerned about our safety and we appreciate it, but please understand that we will not venture into harm's way.

We will keep everyone posted when we can.

We have been here for 4 days now and have had a great and exciting time--Don't let the media make you think the whole country or city is in a state of chaos.

Advertisement



7th October 2008

Happy Belated Birthday!
I saw the comments wishing you a happy birthday, and I figured it wouldn't be too late to wish you a wonderful birthday! Enjoy your stay in Thailand...are you planning to go to the Philippines? If so, let me know and I can tell my family over there, and they will show you pictures from our wedding-and you can see the beautiful Katrina and meet my family and have a place to stay. =)
8th October 2008

Philippines
Felricia, Thanks for the Birthday greetings--it means a lot to me. Actually I did get to read it before my birthday. Let me know where your family is in the PI. We are evaluating our future plans as we go along. It would be great to visit with your family. I have some other friends in the PI right now also so that would be cool. I'll send ya an e-mail. Please tell your mom I said hello.
9th October 2008

Happy Birthday John
Hope you enjoy your Birthday
11th October 2008

happy birthday old man!!!!!!!!
Hey old man I just wanted to say Happy birthday to you!!!! I hope you had a wonderful day. I am glad you guys are safe and sound. Take care of each other out. Hope to talk to you soon. I should have my phone on me this weekend if you try to call. I know I have missed the last few calls and I am sorry I have had so much going on with work and school. I will be glad when this semester comes to an end. Once again happy birthday I love you and miss you. Love always your daughter :) xoxo
13th October 2008

greetings from Flroida
Happy Birthday Late to Lynne and John. Hope all is well. Stay safe, we miss you. Love Vickie and family

Tot: 0.409s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb