Arroyo's Day 7


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 3rd 2008
Published: January 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,

Today was an interesting day. As I mentioned before we were all (accept Eddie, punk) up sick last night. By the time Tong (our tour guide) and I reached each other this morning, she was already in town, she lives about 1.5 hours out of town. I didn't feel like it would be good to take the girls out, so I decided to just keep them in. Tong ended up driving me over to a market to by some fresh fruits and veggies so I could make dinner tonight. When we got back, Eddie said that Audrey threw-up again, which made me really nervous. This is basically the third day she hasn't felt well, so we decided to take her to the hospital. No worries mom, she's fine!!!!

We got there around 10am, met with the pediatrician by 10:15am, spoke with her about 15 minutes and came to the conclusion that it is a stomach bug from something we ate, big shock!! She was a super sweet lady, loved her. She ended up giving Audrey 3 prescriptions (1 antibiotic, 1 anti-nausea and 1 water suppliment like pedicure). We had the prescriptions and were out of there by 10:45am. It was the most streamlined healthcare system I have ever seen. Oh, and guess how much they charged me for the visit and the 3 prescriptions. $100 no, $150 no, $500 no, really guess $20 bucks. Yeah $20 bucks, unreal!!!

It may sound strange, but it was one of the most eye opening experiances I have had here. Blew me away!!!

Anyhoo, I digress... We ended up heading back to the hotel. I steamed some carrots for the girls, gave Audrey her medicine and she hasn't thrown-up since. Keep your fingers crossed. She is napping now with Eddie.

I just got off the phone with Tong and will hopefully go to a fishing village tomorrow. I am still a bit underf the weather but the girls are turning the corner, thank goodness.

On another note, right now the Thai people are in moarning. They love their king and his family very much, very dedicated and devoted to him. His sister died last night of Cancer and everyone is torn up, they are so sad. Everyone is in black and has puffy eyes from crying. It's a little hard to conceptualize as Americans I can't think of anyone that would impact us like this has impacted them, maybe when Kennedy died or Princess Diana, but not really. It would be like a parent dying or something. They consider thier King basically a God, so maybe that can shed some light on the issue. The King is also 80 years old and hasn't been in good health and they are so concerned about him.

Love you all,

Angie

Advertisement



3rd January 2008

I love you all
I'm happy you are all doing better today. You'll be back on tack in no time. I love you all very much. Love, Mom

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb