Top of the World!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 9th 2007
Published: December 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Such a feelin's comin' over me
There is wonder in most everything I see
Not a cloud in the sky
Got the sun in my eyes
And I won't be surprised if it's a dream

Everything I want the world to be
Is now coming true especially for me
And the reason is clear
It's because you are here
You're the nearest thing to heaven that I've seen

I'm on the top of the world lookin' down on creation
And the only explanation I can find
Is the love that I've found ever since you've been around
Your love's put me at the top of the world




After all our touristy activities over the past 3 days, today was almost like a full day of dating: jogging and the gym in the early afternoon, shopping and dinner at Siam Paragon, and then MANCHESTER UNITED VS MIDDLESBROUGH! We didn't visit any famous attraction unless one considers Lumpini Park to be a tourist hotspot. To me it isn't because there were hardly any tourists around that day, only lots of young couples and families! Maybe I'm a homely person but I like
Thai hair salonThai hair salonThai hair salon

Very vintage! Like a scene from an old black and white film.
staying away from the crowd sometimes and just enjoying some quiet alone time with him, taking turns to do things the other loves.

Luckily we were staying in Centre Point in Langsuan, which was close to both Lumpini Park AND Siam Paragon, so that makes two happy people 😊

At Lumpini we jogged for maybe 10 minutes, nothing strenous because I haven't run in a year and for him, he had a heavy bag to carry. And I played on the swing; it was so nice, reminded me of carefree days when I was a child. We spotted a strange-looking reptile, something like a giant lizard and a small crocodile. It was silently watching two young Thai lovers cuddling on the soft grass. In fact they were so wrapped up in each other that they didn't notice the reptile until my lychee boy alerted them. So maybe it's harmless.

After Lumpini we went home. On our way we passed by a Thai hair salon- very run-down, very 'vintage', and very 1970s. We took a picture of it.

In the evening we went to Siam Paragon!!! That part of Siam is so modern and cosmopolitan that if I were shown a photo of it I would have thought all of Bangkok was like that. But it isn't, of course. Inside SP one can find all the international designer brands like Gucci, D & G, Prada, Chanel, Dior, LV, Hermes, etc. I find it obscene that I struggle to pay my $3100 university tuition fees per semester and elsewhere people are spending $3000 on just a bag or some item of filmsy clothing. I mean, if they have no idea how to spend their copious wealth, can they donate to poor students or the disabled or children or the elderly instead??! Also I don't think how anybody with any sense of sympathy can bear to buy an It bag for $3000 while so many Thais are begging on the streets and live in such horrible living conditions. It's appalling.

I was very glad he accompanied me for some shopping although we didn't buy much. Prices are about the same as those in Singapore.

Manchester United was playing their bogey team Middlesbrough that night and we went home to watch it. We won 4-1!!! I was so overjoyed I literally jumped for joy (on the bed). With him I'm never afraid to be my natural self (which is a little bit childish), and I find that very precious.

Tomorrow we fly to Hong Kong...




Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb