bangkok rock


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 3rd 2007
Published: December 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

there is a well known scam in Bangkok, a local approaches a naive tourist (hey, that's me!) and tells them the Wat (temple) they are headed to is closed but that they can take them for a 2 hour tuk tuk (taxi) ride around the city for only 40 bhat ($1). knowing full well what the deal was (tour consists of multiple stops at factory stores in hopes one makes a purchase) i went for it anyway. i received a lovely spin around the city and when the driver realized that between temple stops i wasn't purchasing any custom made silk suites and that he was the one being taken for a ride he ditched me at the giant standing Buddha. since i hadn't paid him for the ride i considered it a fair deal. here is something nice about being from new york (besides the street cred it earns ), the idea of "too far to walk" is relative. i am used to walking avenues on a daily basis so bumming around for lengths of time is totally natural to my feet. as luck would have it i rather enjoyed my walk home and stumbled upon area of the city built on a moat. i noticed kitchens spilling out into the alleys, a TV blaring star wars theme song music and laundry being hung out to dry. i felt a bit like an interloper and didn't want to appear to be gawking so i was trying to shimmy on through quickly. then i heard a woman's voice call out to me. i turned to see an elderly lady, face squished up with deeply set wrinkles, a half toothless smile beaming at me. she repeated herself, "you are very beautiful." there i was, a stranger in her neighborhood, face COVERED in mosquito bites (i musta missed a spot, or say...25), caked in layer upon layer of car exhaust, looking and feeling less than fresh (though i had showered only 3 hours prior) and she was being so sweet most Thai people i have encountered have been so wonderful.) this interaction made me happy on so many levels. anyone who has bothered to speak to me has only done so because they wanted my money, or wanted something else... "thank you" i responded, "so are you." and she was.

i continued on my walk and arrived at the Golden Mount (Phu Khao Thong), a beautiful wat that gives a 360 degree view of the city. it was a bit of a hike up the winding staircase shrouded in foliage, speakers blaring words i could not translate. i encountered more Thais than tourists on the way up and as i approached the door to go inside i obligingly removed my sandals. inside there were dozens upon dozens of Buddhas. like many others there i sat down, placed my hands in prayer mudra, bowed my head and closed my eyes. (i've decided to take a few breathes before i take a few photo ops.) my mind was immediately flooded with thoughts of what i would do once i descended the grand staircase. i started adding to my "to do" list and started wondering what i was even doing on this trip. "breathe, just breathe." it all went to black, just for the shortest and most lovely moment then it all returned into frustrating exile. i felt the rug i was kneeling on shift a bit and opened my eyes to see that a woman had sat down next to me and was stairing. had i done something incorrect and seemingly offensive or had the sight of a westerner seeking solice in a statue caught her off guard? regardless, i recognized my intentions as genuine and sincere and i could only hope she would do the same. as i started to get up i noticed that one of the statues was flaking. pieces of yellow hung on gently, revealing a dark, tarnished metal below the Buddhas gold lief facade. only now could i relate.
i continued the hike to the roof to view the golden apex. something in me was relieved that it was a dome instead of a pacified Buddha, i need not attempt to relate to the serenity of a god still undiscovered. i lowered my head and listened to the wind chimes.

much of my time in Thailand has been spent wandering, writing, meditating and taking some pix, endeavours which no doubt will satisfy only myself 😊 i have a few pix up on flickr (only a few and this blog site is too slow to upload and when you are paying by the minute, well, you get the drift)
another quick note, i have yet to get sick. it is day three and i am ready and waiting but to no avail. more to come.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/21472267@N04/

k


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb