Skolka?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 3rd 2005
Published: September 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

This is the second in a line of transfer days as I am leaving Tashkent and flying back to Bangkok on my route to Dili. Mind you I have no knowledge if I will go there directly or spend some time in Indonesia along the way. First things first, I leave the hotel and successfully flag down my first Lada 1500 and at the obligatory question (Skolka? -How much?) arrange for transfer to the airport for 2000 CYM. I am dropped off in the main street just outside the airport parking space and a number of optimistic drivers try to get my attention, not really knowing where they are hoping to take me as I am entering the terminal building. Check in has just opened and as hand over my ticket to the clerk another staffer is looking over her shoulder.

-Bangkok? Economy? he asks. I nod. Business Class is very comfortable he explains. Great, but I am travelling in economy. It is a six hour flight you know he continues. Very perceptive, I think. Fifty dollars! he gestures to my closed lips. Apparently he thinks they are forming the word skolka. Thanks, but no thanks. I expect to be punished by getting a really lousy seat in the plane but to my big astonishment I have been given a seat in the front cabin anyway. At this point I am starting to get a bit worn down by the constant bargaining of slick hustlers everywhere you go. It feels like being under attack by those pestering desert mosquitoes again. By travelling with a local agent I have been spared much of this exercise myself, but it has always been there behind the curtains.

The flight to Bangkok is uneventful but comfortable and upon arrival I go to the Thai Airways ticketing office to see if they can somehow muster up an onward ticket to Denpasar. You might remember the blog entry where I unsuccessfully tried to hunt one of these elusive tickets down, so when I learn that there is indeed a seat available on tomorrow morning's flight I am extremely relieved and immediately purchase it. I then get a room back at the favourite Karnmanee Palace Hotel again and spend the rest of the evening travelling in time watching some old Schwarzenegger flicks on Star Movies. Oh dear...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb