Teacher Respect Day


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 4th 2007
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post


In Thailand they have great respect for teachers. In June every school celebrates Teacher Respect Day. Its a ceremony where all the children you teach give you offerings of flowers and bow down before you. We had our a couple of weeks ago. Thought you might like to see the photos. The kids offered all the teachers their respect, and then were really naughty for the rest of the ceremony, throwing flowers around, slidding on their knees and talking all the way through. Quite ironic and amusing really.

Anyway, after the ceremony they all had homework to write about their teachers. A few wrote about Kris and me so we put them on here. They definately made us smile!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

1P after sitting properly for 2 minutes1P after sitting properly for 2 minutes
1P after sitting properly for 2 minutes

they can't sit still for long without figitting!
Grades 1 and 2Grades 1 and 2
Grades 1 and 2

we teach all of these kids
Kate with the flowers she was given from the kidsKate with the flowers she was given from the kids
Kate with the flowers she was given from the kids

we had to give them back after the ceremony!
Kris in the teacher respect day ceremonyKris in the teacher respect day ceremony
Kris in the teacher respect day ceremony

with his Thai co-teacher, Ta.
Kate in the teacher respect day ceremonyKate in the teacher respect day ceremony
Kate in the teacher respect day ceremony

with her Thai co-teacher, Kon.
My Teacher by Aidan aged 6My Teacher by Aidan aged 6
My Teacher by Aidan aged 6

he's our bosses son.
My teacher by Mook aged 6My teacher by Mook aged 6
My teacher by Mook aged 6

Teacher Kate is an American???
My teacher by Eddie aged 6My teacher by Eddie aged 6
My teacher by Eddie aged 6

Kris appears to be a motorcycle taxi driver in this picture, and drives a drilling machine. very much like real life.
Our favourite. My Teacher by Ken aged 6Our favourite. My Teacher by Ken aged 6
Our favourite. My Teacher by Ken aged 6

Teacher Kris has big hands... well compared to Ken he probably does.


9th July 2007

Kate, you appear to be wielding a sword in one of the pictures. But then again you have no nose in that one.......
20th July 2007

Oh yeah
Did we forget to mention we had to knight them into the British Empire as welL

Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 23; qc: 97; dbt: 0.1352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb