Tuk tuk tinnitus in Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 15th 2005
Published: August 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Trying to cross Thanon SilomTrying to cross Thanon SilomTrying to cross Thanon Silom

Can you imagine an Asia without Honda?
Yay, I'm back in Bangers. Sorry mum, I meant Krung Thep - the city of angels. Only I must have been doing something wrong (like staying near Khao San Road again) because almost everyone I've met so far has been dodgy as hell, if somewhat entertaining.

In the last 24 hours I have been mistaken as a Japanese tourist by an Isaan taxi driver, sampled every permutation of fruit shake possible with a German landscape architect, lectured loudly in public by an enthusiastic Israeli art photographer, stretched by a Thai masseuse who confided that she had just narrowly avoided being sold to a dodgy Korean outfit, and attacked by three, (count 'em) three, mangy Banglamphu mongrel dogs. grrr...

Amidst the pollution and the congestion, there are some wonderful simple pleasures to be had here. For me, buying impossibly good som tam off street hawkers ranks right up there with smelling new woollen jumpers, tasting one's first home-grown tomato, or lying at the bottom of the ocean staring at waves breaking above you.

It's been fun but I think I need quieter towns soon. Fortunately I'm off to Myanmar tomorrow - Woo hoo!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The tuk tuk of deathThe tuk tuk of death
The tuk tuk of death

At least I made him as nervous as he made me...
Ice merchantIce merchant
Ice merchant

Consuming ice in South East Asia can be a risky exercise, especially when the cubes are this big.


27th November 2005

re: ice merchant
ur so incredibly corny. ur blog is great reading for a joyless sun nite. Ta!
18th September 2006

Ha!
I just laughed my ass off reading your blog from Bankok. I just had similar experiences there and its great to know im not alone.
23rd August 2011

pulsatile tinnitus causes
Funny that it's from the tuk tuk your pulsatile tinnitus causes. thanks for the blog

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb