I leave tomorrow


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 14th 2005
Published: July 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's about 6:30 p.m. in Bangkok and I arrived back here at noon today. I guess I missed a real flood yesterday, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed for tomorrow morning. It is very monsoonal here and when it rains, it POURS. The roads flood very quickly and I don't need any hangups getting to the airport.

Well, when I got here, I hired a car and driver for a couple hours (cost $300 Baht an hour - about $7.89) and went and did a last round of shopping. I needed to pick up some things, like the picture I had made of Mickey and Sophia. The artist did a phenomenal job of capturing Mickey, which is really surprising since he is all black and it can be hard to get details on a picture. I'll take a photo of it when I get home and post it.

I had wonderful news today - I called the airline and I was mistaken about my baggage allotment. I thought it was 32 kilos total (for those that are metric challenged like myself a kilo is 2.2 lbs). To my delight it is 32 kilos per bag, and I can bring 3 since I am traveling business class. I did the Woo Hoo dance (which I learned from MAL). I'm on easy street now, so much so that I am going out and buying a bit more tea to bring home.

I sat, had a glass of wine and ate edamame and watched the sunset over Bangkok. It's kinda funny - I thought I'd be more ready to leave but I'm not totally there yet. However, having said that, it will be pure heaven to sleep in my own bed tomorrow night (or about 40 hours from now with the time change) with the pooches. That and seeing Scott are the carrots that are pulling me homeword. I have to tell you, Thailand is an amazing place, and I have a feeling I will spend many more happy days here.

I've loved sharing this trip with all of you, and hope you've enjoyed it too. Give me a day or two to just sleep and then start calling me - I can't wait to hear what is happening in everyone elses lives - being on a trip is so egocentric. Love to all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb