Bangkok!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 3rd 2007
Published: February 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Suddenly....Rachael is thrown back into the 21st century!

Seriously, Bangkok compared to India is insane - not least because from where I am sitting I can almost see 3 branches of Boots, 2 7-11s, a starbucks, Burger King, McDs....

I landed at the new, mega-swish Bangkok airport, which really needs to work on its immigration signs - in actual fact it doesn't matter which way you walk, you still get to immigration, yet the signs (which points in all different directions) give the impression that you are totally in the wrong place, walking in the wrong way.... Anyway, having picked up my poor little rucksack, which luckily I'd had wrapped in giant cling-film-ness as it arrived covered in dirt...I found a stuffed pork bun for breakfast (Thailand so wins in food terms) and got a bus to Thanon Khao San - ie backpacker Mecca... The bus promptly got onto a motorway, where people do such strange things as staying in their lane, and indicating when they want to change lanes.

Took me a day to realise it, but the main reason everything seems strange here is the total and utter lack of horns...obviously its fairly noisy everywhere, but with music, and people talking...no car horns. I'm used to a constant background noise. There are also no cows, very few dogs....lots of cats though, which is a new one.

Anyway, I've not actually left the Khao San Road yet, so shall update when I have something more to say....

Advertisement



3rd February 2007

Thailand indeed. Cheat. Enjoy. Shall catch you online soon... x
4th February 2007

Thailand, ' the land of stuffed pork buns and silly signs'

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb