Real Journey's End


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 13th 2006
Published: December 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

S21S21S21

This is one of the rooms where high ranking prisoners were taken to be tortured. In each of the rooms there is a picture of the murdered victim that was found in that room.
Okay, so my last blog I am sure was a little underwhelming for a 'last hurrah' kind of blog. I will try to make up for it now. I no longer have to really really consentrate just to walk straight, and I am not fighting every instinct in my body to hurl all over the place just focusing on my typed words. I think I am unstoned now. Thank bloody god. That was unnerving. A two day stone all for an extra $1 on my pizza.

I'm a fool, I tell you! A fool!

I have so much to say, and don't know how to say it. I have only been gone two months, and my whole world has changed. I have seen and done things that I never thought I could or would do. I am independant, and strong, and worldly! I can't believe that in a mere two hours I have to make my way back to the airport one final time.

I don't really have much to say about my final two days here in Bangkok. I spent the majority of it in my air conditioned hotel room sleeping and sweating and trying not to
S21S21S21

From a prisoners view. You can still see the blood on the walls and ceilings of the cells.
throw up. My life the past two days I can really only remember in small bits and pieces. It's bizzare. I wonder what the hell I ate??

I do know that before the pizza I spent the day in the village the my last driver was from. There was him and his family, as well as two other families, all piled together into one tuk tuk and one scooter and out for a Sunday drive to the country. It was freaking brilliant. I didn't do a lot of talking, as there was only one other English speaker there, but I did do a lot of smiling and laughing. I will upload pics this time, too.

I do have one story to tell, that's kind of funny. While wondering around the Thailand airport stoned out of my gourd and worrying about getting through immigration I stumbled upon a store that was seilling Reese's Peanut butter Cups. OMG! I haven't had one of those since I left home two months ago, and was CRAVING them (Remember, I was stoned). So I bought a big bag of them. Then thought of how much I would enjoy them so bought two more
Walls of facesWalls of facesWalls of faces

There were thousands of these faces, all victims of the Khemr Rouge
big bags. It wasn't until I was being interrogated with innocent questions from the immigration people did Ir ealize that each bag was 520baht. I bought three of them, so that's 1560baht. Wonder how much that is Canadian? hahahahaha. Jees...a freaking $45!!! That's how much I spent on god damn Reeses Peanut Butter Cups. What a fucking retard. That's all I have been eating the last two days. I have to get my money's worth from them.

I look forward to seening all my friends and family again, and my dog. Thank you all for sharing my adventures with me. I hope you have enjoyed them half as much as I enjoyed experiencing it all. And never fear...I am already planning my next trip, so I will have to share with you next year 😊

Hugs and kisses to you all,
Cathy


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Me, looking a little like a terrorist myselfMe, looking a little like a terrorist myself
Me, looking a little like a terrorist myself

This is on the way to the killing fields, on a road that would rival any forest service road in BC.
The Killing FieldsThe Killing Fields
The Killing Fields

This was the monument set up, piled high with skulls.
Noodle EatingNoodle Eating
Noodle Eating

In the Russian Market in Phomh Penh
National MuseumNational Museum
National Museum

In Pnomh Penh
Phnom PenhPhnom Penh
Phnom Penh

A regular day of transportation in the Nation's capital
Phnom PenhPhnom Penh
Phnom Penh

Interesting monument...


31st December 2006

Great stories!
So I am a total stranger and I don't even know if you are reading your comments anymore since you've obviously returned home but I just wanted to say how hilarious and fun your blog posts are. I found them while researching my own upcoming trip to Borneo. I've been to Thailand and Cambodia last year so I could really relate to your experiences. I felt the same way about Cambodia. It completely changed my life and I hope to return soon to do some volunteering. Right now I am living in China, but I previously lived in Toronto so I could relate to your Canadian references, too. I hope that you do travel again so you can share your amazing sense of humor with the world!!

Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb