Day 4 Thursday


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 16th 2019
Published: October 17th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


schwarma cookschwarma cookschwarma cook

I couldn’t even stand being up at the counter because it was so hot in there. Don’t know how he was able to stand it.
Thursday already. This feels like a good hump day for me. I think if I can get through both sessions today, with my little foot injury, I’ll be able to start making some progress on my endurance in the ring. I can feel the power in the kicks and punches, and I know exactly when I don’t have it and why. The running hasn’t been a problem so far, and neither has the jumping rope. I checked the Fitbit log, and yesterday was 13.6 miles, and 3290 calories. I need to make sure I eat better. I was really feeling worn out and exhausted. I sort of skipped lunch yesterday for a needed nap, and appears that wasn’t the best choice. I made sure to have breakfast this morning, and I’m having a light lunch now before I head out again in an hour or so.

This morning started off ok. My foot wasn’t as bad as I was afraid it would be. Yeah, it’s bruised pretty good (no pictures included), but I was able to walk with no problems, and everything bends the way it’s supposed to. It’s just like all those sprained ankles and such that I’d get growing up from playing football of falling off skateboards. The training went well this morning. Ajahn is really pushing me hard. I showed him my foot and told him no kicks, thinking that might lower the intensity a bit, but it just really meant everything was now on the right leg for kicks. It’s amazing, but no one is at the gym except me training. It’s like it’s my own private gym and trainer. What a great opportunity! Even the boxers are not there in the morning. Jomhod was there today obviously getting ready for Saturday’s fight. He was running with the plastic suit on working down to weigh-in weight. I’m running with just shorts and sweating like a pig, I can’t imagine how it feels to run in that. I wish I had some pictures to add, but the last couple days have been pretty routine and the same sights. One of the trainers young son was at the gym yesterday and he was in the ring doing the traditional opening before a fight. I took a video, but I’m not sure if I can upload it. It was pretty impressive seeing how well he did. Maybe he’s 4 or 5? My training this morning was the normal 8 laps running and 10 minutes jump rope. I started with 3 rounds on the heavy bag, the NEW heavy bag and was critiqued the entire time. Today there were even some “Good, Good” sprinkled in. Finishing that it was into the ring for pad work. I think it was almost 25 minutes, which really doesn’t seem long, but i was tired after 10 minutes. Each round ended with either 10000 machine gun punches, or 10 kicks sometimes for power, sometimes for speed. I’ve never been very good with the 10 in a row for speed, but they’ve been coming along pretty good this trip. In between rounds, Ajahn grabs the ice cold water and proceeds to bring me back to life by pouring over my head, arms, shoulders, and then a quick rubdown that brings tears to my eyes. That cold water really takes my breath away, and gets me ready for the next round. I think it was about 5 rounds on the pads, and then we did one round only boxing. Finishing the morning off with weights and sit-ups, just like the last few sessions. Oh, and the ring dogs from last trip have been scarce, but there are a ton of cats all along the running route and even in the gym that I don’t remember from last time.

Ok, time to get ready for afternoon. Also today the hotel is having its yearly fire drill. Luckily we don’t need to leave, it’s just testing lights, and systems. I probably better get up to the room just Incase they shutdown elevators. I really don’t need to climb 25 sets of stairs.

I left a little later for the train and got there more on time at 3:30. It was much warmer than the morning but still not as bad as I’ve seen before. The running was only 5 laps, and jump rope only 10 minutes. Again, the afternoon was quiet. One other guy showed up, he’s been the only other person I’ve seen regularly. For a change today, it was shadow boxing with hand weights for a couple of rounds. That sure goes a long way for shoulder work. Since no one was there, the afternoon plan was back to the ring with pads. Four rounds of that, and a final one of just boxing finished the day. Well, almost finished. Still had weights and sit-ups to complete, and a slightly early finish for the day. The only picture I have today is from the schwarma place I stopped for dinner. The poor kid working there must have been roasting he’s between two burners, with an oven behind him in the heat of Bangkok. What a terrible way to make a living.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 42; dbt: 0.1496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb