Arrived in Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 5th 2019
Published: February 13th 2019
Edit Blog Post

I was asked to join a banking project in Bangkok, Thailand which seemed like a great opportunity to visit a county that I’d never been to before. While the majority of my time would be spent working, having weekends and evening free to explore the city with local colleagues from my company seemed like a great opportunity – especially when my employer was picking up the cost of travel and lodging.

I left out of Tampa airport headed to Bangkok via Detroit and South Korea on a Delta / Korean Air flight (like maximizing my Delta miles). I was honestly quite surprised how large and modern the Seoul, South Korea airport was! I felt like I was in a giant high-end mall that was made of glass and filled with large ornamental trees. The airport was easy to navigate, clean, and with friendly service.

After a short 55 min layover, I was off for Bangkok. Upon arriving in Bangkok close to 10pm local time I was still unsure whether I should take the train or taxi to my hotel in the Sathorn section of the city (I knew that the train required 3 train changes to get to my destination). I ended up taking a taxi which was a good idea since the hotel was located far down an ally which I might otherwise have had difficulty locating.

After checking into the hotel, I quickly went of to grab some food and a beer to unwind from my 28 hours of travel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb