Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Aranya Prathet
January 3rd 2007
Published: January 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bankok at night.Bankok at night.Bankok at night.

The view from the River View guesthouse.
Here i am on the Cambodian border, havign had very little sleep over the last two nights, and not really knowing where I am going in Cambodia.

I arrived in Bangkok last night, extremely tired after a 16 hour bus journey overnight from Songkhla. I decided to head for Chinatown, and to do it on public transport (no tuk-tuk, moto-bike or taxi for me). I made it there having done lots of asking questions of Thai people, many people being very kind.

The guesthouse I wound up in is called the River View, and it's fantastic. The views over the river are amazing, particularly as the sun goes down. Sa, when you come out we're definitely going here




With every fibre in my body crying out for sleep, I forced down some coffee, had a much needed shower, and dragged my carcass out to Chinatown for some provision shopping for Cambodia. I needed to change money, buy a mosquito net, find an alarm clock, and get some passport photos for my visa. I returned having only found an alarm clock, but also with a 3XL t-shirt (Yes!!!), a key-chain, a connector for the ipod, a phone
Busy StreetBusy StreetBusy Street

Forget about it Jake, it's.....
charger which doesn't work, and sore feet. Chinatown market is incredible, really the place to go if you're shopping list includes a taser, hairbands, remote control helicopters, fish, pigs feets, pirate dvds, and pink things which look like old steaks but I think might be sweets.

While there, I wandered into some Wats, which were very busy, with lots of people making offerings.

Finally dragged myself away, and returned for a quite night overlooking the Bangkok skyline, and getting ready for that 4.45 wake up.

Oh yeah, new year was great. Had a slap up meal at the ABC guesthouse in SongKhla, then off to the expat bar the Buzz-Stop with some friends from the ABC, where I met a couple of very drunk English teachers, and then to an after-hours kareoke bar for the people who work in the bars in SongKhla till 7 am.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

WatWat
Wat

A very busy Wat.


3rd January 2007

Just so you know...
...that someone is reading your blog.... We're still here and taking in everything you write. I assumed that you'd never find 3xl clothing in the Far East, but then Wat do I know! At least YOU know Wat's Wat, eh? Hope you finally managed to get a good night's sleep. Love (Mum and) Dad
5th January 2007

What a busy time you're having!
Have just seen your blog for the first time, Adam. It is really interesting and I am surprised how much effort you have put into it! Glad to see that you went to hospital when it was required. Dad and I were not too well over Christmas but Freda and Tim came up to see us on 01 January, which was really nice, and then we all went to see Mum (Granma) on the 2nd. I stayed till Thursday 4th. This is why I hadn't really looked at your photographs before, but now that I've seen them and read your blog, I am much impressed. Take good care of yourself and be sure to get enough rest to keep your strength up. Love Mum
19th January 2007

hey cuz, love your blog. Would love to see some pics of you though. Remember what i said about the.....hummmm ladies...hehe!! Take care and watch your wallet...hehe!!

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 80; dbt: 0.0714s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb