AMPHAWA DURING THE DAY: MONK’S BLESSINGS


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ampawa
June 22nd 2014
Published: June 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

I had to be out of the door by 0630 if I wanted to see the monks rolling into town. People exchange offerings like food, soap and basic needs for blessings. And if you are lucky besides blessings you will also get an amulet. A few monks leave their temples to collect food for the rest of the monks that stay in the temple. They walk around barefoot with shiny bowls for people to deposit their oferings on. Once the bowl is full they have to return. I saw 3 monks, they received the offerings, give the blessings and put the food behind a wall in a big bag and do it all over. This gave me the opportunity to take a few shots but I didn’t want to be too invasive and unrespectful in such a spiritual moment. Their bags were getting pretty full and I wanted to photograph them getting on their boats but all the sudden they disappeared and I never saw them again. I went to look for a coffee. It was hard to find. Finally I got one and learned that “lon” (Pronunciation) is cup so I didn’t get my coffee on a bag.

I watched the vendors set up and I was really debating if I should head back to Bangkok. I was tired and I didn’t really feel like doing a 9 temple day on a boat which is the next attraction that tourist come to Amphawa for.

Then I saw the breakfast boat pulling off and I stop to watch all the action around it, a lady almost felt in that dirty water and people started coming towards the steps. Then I saw him. A monk in a small boat coming towards the steps! That was the reason of the conmotion. I was lucky to follow him and photographed him and even received his blessings. I watched his boat get full of offerings until he dessapeared in the distance. That made my day and after that I didn’t care if I did anything else.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb