KHOROG


Advertisement
Tajikistan's flag
Asia » Tajikistan » Khorog
July 21st 2014
Published: July 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

KHOROG. MONDAY 21.5.14

At last I can report a positive day!

I slept until 7.30, then woke with concern that I had missed breakfast, which would have been a major disappointment as it was delicious, the best yet.

Later, I decided to go downtown with one of the new riders from Kashgar, Robin, a pleasant overly clever woman of mid 30's. The Tuk Tuk style van to travel 5 Kms was 3 Som, about 60 cents total. I could get used to these expenses. The road borders the river separating Afghanistan, this northern view looks quite interesting. Saw plenty of walled villas, and couldn't help but wonder who lurks behind them!

Arrived in town on market day, standard country market. Got an interesting photo of a policeman and his hat, who was happy to pose, as an earlier request of another policeman I was warned off.

Ate lunch overlooking the river, a scenic spot, with a lone elderly accordion player. Music drowned out by the river rush, must have been moving at 6 knots. Wouldn't want to have fallen in. I was treated on the opposite bank. I wonder if I can now lay claim to having been to Afghanistan!! Meal was adequate, rice with mutton cooked Pamirs Kebab style. Actually had a little more flavour than usual.

Then we returned to hotel.

Have arranged to fly to Dushanbe as road journey is over 600 Kms. May not have been as determined had I known its in a six seater flying through the mountain ranges. About 2.5 hours.

So repacked bags discarding non essentials to meet luggage weights, as slim as me, haha.

Spent some frustrating hours trying internet before calling it quits. Had a beer, first in 3 weeks, another club sandwich. And everything has stayed in place. A relief.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



22nd July 2014

Some great photos! Have a safe flight - speak to you in Dushanbe xx

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb