оҳиста суст, жай жай...Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan- Dushanbe


Advertisement
Tajikistan's flag
Asia » Tajikistan » Dushanbe
August 23rd 2018
Published: November 20th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Day 3

NO, I am not better.

Had a horrible night, abdo cramps +++ Loaded up now on Buscopan, Gastrostop and Panadol. Skip breakfast. Feel revolting. Go downstairs anyway and have a cup of tea (having triple washed my cup- discretely). The Polish girl is gone, there is an Italian girl this morning- she is covered from head to toe in bed bug bites and is on antihistamines and antibiotics (I tell her I know a good pharmacy nearby should she need to stock up - hahaha...). She picked them up somewhere on a homestay on the Pamir Highway. Two Scottish girls appear, they are heading off on the Pamir Highway that morning- they carefully note down the Italian girls homestay places so as NOT to stay there. Next comes the elusive Marian, she asks me if I can do a bank transfer for her and in return offers the services of her driver to take me to a hostel (Green House Hostel https://www.greenhousedushanbe.com/ ) that sells gas for my camping stove- deal (not cheap at 65 TJS/ $9.50 AUD per can). I learn a little about Marian and her life in TJ.

Decide to take it easy for the rest of the day so wander back to Rudaki Park, lots of flowers and water fountains with a cool shady bench to read my book. After an hour or so a young guy sits next to me reading an English paper, for another 30 minutes he keeps looking up before finally asking if he can chat with me- the next 40 mins are full of discussion about Islam, world populations and geography. I buy him a cup of tea before he goes back to the library to study.

Back to Marians where I sleep away the rest of the afternoon.

Not yet better. Fingers crossed - big adventure starts tomorrow.


Will I be better tomorrow?



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Typical BreadshopTypical Breadshop
Typical Breadshop

My food for the day


Tot: 0.456s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 134; dbt: 0.233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb