My Groups, 10/9-10/15


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan
October 10th 2006
Published: November 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Dragon HeadDragon HeadDragon Head

Here I am wrestling with a dragon head for a teacher at a local elmentary school.
It's been a busy week for me at the Dream Community. I've been working mostly with three different groups. There's a dragon puppet for an elementary school. The teacher wants the body to resemble the Taipei 101 building. I've also been working with a couple of preschool teachers who have meen making insect masks and costumes for kids. Next they want me to help them make a hollow tree carried on bamboo poles that the kids can run in and out of. About midweek my knees are really hurting. I've not quite recovered from the Tsao Ling Trail hike. I seek out care at a clinic around the corner. I hobble in at about 9:30 pm and receive pulse diagnosis, acupuncture, cupping, massage, adjustment, and traditional Chinese medicine. I come back the next day for electrostim and massage. All for about $25 US money. My architecture students are around for a few days, mostly working at night, making great progress. I'm The soccer moms return to finish their heads, and I'm sought out by another group of architecture students wanting to make seahorse heads and tails to wear.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

DrawingDrawing
Drawing

Here's a drawing from the teacher.
Skinning the DragonSkinning the Dragon
Skinning the Dragon

I go to the elementary school to help put the first layer of paper on the dragon.
Elementary StudentsElementary Students
Elementary Students

Some of the students I'm working with.
Hollow Tree 1Hollow Tree 1
Hollow Tree 1

Starting the hollow tree.
Hollow Tree 2Hollow Tree 2
Hollow Tree 2

Skinning the hollow tree.
Hollow Tree 3Hollow Tree 3
Hollow Tree 3

Adding sculptural details.
FaceFace
Face

Working on a face for one of the tree demon puppets
Facial ReconstuctionFacial Reconstuction
Facial Reconstuction

Another face has been cut away from the clay and is being reconstructed.
Claw 1Claw 1
Claw 1

The students work on a large claw for one of the tree puppets.
Claw 2Claw 2
Claw 2

Piecing it back together.
Claw 3Claw 3
Claw 3

Just being silly.
CuppingCupping
Cupping

This was one of the treatments I received at the Chinese Urgent Care Clinic.
FitFit
Fit

Trying it on for size.
Test WalkTest Walk
Test Walk

Testing out the puppet.
Night WorkNight Work
Night Work

My students has classes during the day, so we were often up late into the night working.
Soccer MomsSoccer Moms
Soccer Moms

The soccer moms are back to work on their heads.
Seahorse PeopleSeahorse People
Seahorse People

A few of the seahorse people seek me out for help making smaller versions of seahorse heads and tails they can wear.
DizzyDizzy
Dizzy

I think I need more sleep!


Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 71; dbt: 0.1591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb