Taipei - Day 1


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
May 3rd 2010
Published: May 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

We made it to Taiwan safe and sound.

It took around 9 hours to get from Tokyo to our hotel here in Taipei but all in all things went pretty smoothly. Thank god for travel blogs! We got a lot of great tips on which buses to take to our hotel and such. We made it safe and sound and checked in at about 6:30.

Our hotel happens to be right next to an ex-pat bar called My Other Place so we went there for a quick drink and a bite. The food was delicious! Rice, veggies and beef with just the right amount of spice. Yum! The waitress was nice enough to give us details on how to get to the night market (even a hand written note we could show the bus driver!) so we'll be doing that tomorrow night.

After dinner we went for a bit of a wander to see what's near our hotel. It looks like there's quite a few bakeries so we'll be having that for breakfast tomorrow!

Of course, me being me, I couldn't be here 24 hours without something happening. During our walk we stopped in a little park to sit and chat and a mosquito bit my ass. This, of course, after I used Muskol on ever other bit of exposed skin on my body. *sigh* You just can't win sometimes. I now have a massive bite on my butt cheek that's about the size of a twoonie. Jim can't get over it. It's pretty funny. At least I had the forethought to bring along some after bite. I have a feeling it's going to be getting a lot of use over the next few days.

Anyways, we have an early morning tomorrow. We're going to get some breakfast and then head on over to one of the national parks. I'll update again soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb