The End of the Lines


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Good Morning Taipei! The sun is starting to come out of its four day fog!

Thanks for the comments guys. As I've mentioned I'm traveling alone during the sunlight hours so they are the personal interactive highlight of my day.

First of all before we continue with my daily update I have to warn everyone that I'm EXTREMELY HUNGRY. I realize now that I didnt bring enough food because I assumed that most of the time we will be in china where we will be stationed next to chabad. I thought "how much food do I need for four days?" apparently I need alot! I didnt take into account that in Taiwan there is absolutely
nothing kosher.. I will call this "the kosher Taiwanese diet" I am hoping that only eating some manot chamot,bananas and lachmit combined with swimming every day in the heated pool (28 degrees!! you could melt) I will burn off some calories.

I want to thank Jeff for always nudging me to go on these work trips with him.. he is definitly going to be sorry!

I have come to the conclusion that anything really interesting to see in Taipei is at
Villa32 Spa in TaiwanVilla32 Spa in TaiwanVilla32 Spa in Taiwan

the moment you enter you know you are going to have an experience you wont forget!
the last stop of the subway lines. Today I fell in love with the red line..The Beitou line. If yesterday I was reporting how quiet everyone is in Taiwan .. I FINALLY FOUND THE ROUDY BUNCH, Baruch Hashem!!! Kids coming home from school talking to their friends rather loudly (for the taiwanese-) people talking on cellphones- one old couple saw me looking at my map and asked if I needed help, which I did, and then they went on to tell me that they had been to L.A., Yosemite and NICURAGUA falls (they meant niagra).
An intersting note: It seems to me that the kids have to wear a uniform. This uniform consists of high black knee socks, a blue plad skirt and a white and red striped shirt. On each shirt there is an embroidered ID number of each child. Gave me the chills but i guess if a teacher doesnt remember the kids name he just yells out his number.. yikes. )

OK so ask "Brenda, What was there to explore on the Beitou - red line?"

I was on this line so I could check out a SPA called VILLA 32. .

The New
Villa32 Spa in TaiwanVilla32 Spa in TaiwanVilla32 Spa in Taiwan

Princess Brenda in Wonderland
York Times wrote:
"After a quick breakfast at one of Taipei’s many corner bakeries,- WELL I WISH.. THOSE CAKES LOOK AWESOME- hop on the subway to the New Beitou stop, about 40 minutes from downtown. The northern town of Beitou is renowned for its hot springs resorts,VERY BEAUTIFUL GREEN MOUNTAINS AND A VOLCANO - some modeled after those in Japan. Walk up the hill to take a soak at one of the newest of the spas, Villa 32! www.villa32.com CHECK OUT THIS SITE AND JUST IMAGINE ME FLOATING AROUND. It has all the atmosphere of a luxury spa in a uniquely Taiwanese setting, with outdoor pools of different temperatures shielded by wooden awnings and the shade of leafy trees.- THIS WAS A PAST LIFE EXPERIENCE I WAS A ROMAN QUEEN- spend the morning with other bathers in the outdoor pools- NO ONE WAS THERE EXCEPT ONE LADY- ME!!!, separated by gender.. A SHVITZ!

This spa has about 8 different sulfur pools. ranging from 20 degrees which is super cold to 42 degrees which is unbearably hot. I went pool hopping for 2 hours followed by an hour message. The women who gave me the message asked: "where are you from ?" "Israel" - I said waiting to see her expresion.. there is always some kind of expression. she looked at me blankly and said " never heard of it, where is it in the world? " I chuckled and said nothing! after the heavenly message i popped in to a dry sauna to end a perfect day.

As I was soaking my sore legs in the outdoor pools I went into my little box and felt thankful that I could just leave everything and take the time to think, without the pressure that I have been under for the past five years. Funny enough after I left the spa, my cel rang - it was the education department calling me because they couldnt get a hold of the school that I was a principal of for that past five years and wanted to know if could I give them the new principals cellphone. (makes you wonder how the system works!!!! ) I told the voice on the other end of the phone his number , she wanted to talk but I told her "Hey I'm in Taiwan" we hung up and I just walked to the red line enjoying the Tawanese quiet!

Tomorrow were off to Shanghai-..shey shey and sianora


Advertisement



4th September 2008

Spa!
Wow! I feel like you really deserved that spa place!
4th September 2008

Spa
Looks like Jeff could use a spa too, by the look of him at the end of a days work.... I could actually feel you relax ...through your description of the massage, you soooo deserve it. have a great time in Shanghai.
4th September 2008

Enjoy
Hi, One thing I pray for. Don't finish this trip! It's so nice to came to the office and to travel immediately far away! Second, you can be a reporter or a novelist. Please don't forget any of your experiences and begin to write a novel book. Thank you Hedva
10th September 2008

You found the ultimate vacation spot- a place where they have never heard of Israel.

Tot: 0.342s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 98; dbt: 0.1354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb