Taipei, Taiwan... First Impressions


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

first impressionsfirst impressionsfirst impressions

i was very suprized to see many old men lying like this or gambling in the market
If you recall in my last blog I talked about First Impressions. But i first must reply to all of you that asked. Yes, we did go to Anne Franks House. Both Jeff and I found it very emotional. Jeff did not go on the cruise liner and maybe on the way home we will get to the Van Gough Museum. No, I never heard of the song Amsterdam, dam ,dam..

Going to Taiwan is so out of my box that I have a few firsts.


I have to admit I was rather apprehensive about touring the city of Taipei, one has to understand that I cant even make out a syllable let alone a word when people are talking.

Now we all know that I am a big talker and I have to admit that I considered staying in my room to watch the 37 inch lcd tv than have to face my fear that I would get lost and no one would understand me or be able to show me the way home. I figured I could tell everyone that it rained and poured (which it did )!who would know who would care! After
my first impression my first impression my first impression

I was suprized to see how everything looked so run down
a few minutes of internal debate- I gathered my map, camera, toilet paper (you never know), NT dollars and my bottled water off I went to see Taipei.

Did I mention that Jeff is working all day?

Off I went to the subway , so proud of myself, I even passed a starbucks deciding not to stop and give into my western need for coffee.

BEWARE -No one speaks english! after the third person who looked at me, smiled and bowed- I went straight into a panick attack!!!! I have no idea which way on the subway I should be going!!! what was I thinking ? sitting in front of the tv watching an Oprah show never sounded so good. Well to make a long story short- Not to worry they actually have an amazing subway system. It took me about 15 minutes (ok I'm slow) to figure out how much each ride would cost but by the end of the day I was buying tickets saying thank you to the machine - shye shye (i think?) and transfering rails with no problem at all.

Traveling on subways and walking on the streets I had an eary feeling that I am THE ONLY TOURIST IN TAIPEI. I mean I didnt see anyone who looked like a tourist. The subways were dead silent, no one speaks - cell phones? I didnt see any... as you walk in the city it is so quiet except for the motorbikes- millions and millions of bikes- I almost felt like I was in a state of meditation. No wild kids, very few if any at all. just people sitting, walking and standing very quietly. WHERE IS THE ACTION???

My first stop was at the Longshan Temple. As I left the train station to the Temple the street was lined with old men, some playing what looked like checkers, some were totally drunk and some were just sleeping. I was suprized to see this scene and it made me feel sad. I quietly walked into the court yard of the temple, still no tourists, the air was filled with smoke and interesting and nice smells. People were offering to the Buddah beautiful purple and white flowers that were meticulously arranged. Men and women walked around with insence (spelling?) sticks and candles, while others were throwing a kind of dice in the shape of a lima bean at the feet of the alter. The order in which the dice fall predicts if you are going to have a good day, bad week, or just good luck. I cant tell you that I didnt think of throwing a few of those dice for me and some of my wonderful friends out there but since i didnt want to be accused of believing in superstion I snapped pictures instead. I snapped till I realized it might be rude - so i stopped.

THE MARKET- keep reading a rather funny story!
not so different from Machne yehuda . I was suprized to see alot of gambling stores, where old men sit and play.. I even saw a dog. I saw two women fighting and was actually happy to see some emotion and hear some human noise.

I was walking through the market when I saw a big sign for Walcoal - keep reading it will become clear- I asked the very dainty sales women if she had my size ..shaking her head that I understood as "yes" she quickly took her measuring tape and slowly measured me to see my size for
Me on tea mountainMe on tea mountainMe on tea mountain

It only took me a half an hour and about 20 people asking me to take their pictures till I realized I could ask them too.
an undergarment (use your imagination). I was watching her face, feeling pretty secure that she would say in Taiwanese "one moment please" and head to the back room ......but out of nowhere and to my great suprize her expression made a very quick change. as she was measuring me her eyebrows went up towards her hairline, her eyes went into her head as if trying to calculate a serious algebra equation and then she blurted out "OH" in a thick tawinese accent. she didnt speak english but from her body language i understood that she couldnt even imagine having a garment that big.. i quickly smiled maybe even laughed and ran out...

And decided to go to the other side of town.

A half an hour later I am sitting on the Moakong Gondola- by myself.. people waiting in line.. the women asks "one?" I answer "yes" - did I tell you that jeff is working? she motions to me with her hand that I should get into the Gondola that has seating for eight all by myself.
I find myself filming the steep climb of more than 355 meters to the top to see how they grow
Tea Farm Tea Farm Tea Farm

A 20 Minute gondola ride was all it took to find myself in luscious mountains. I told myself that if I could fly to Taiwan I could surely get on a gondola ... it was worth it!
tea.
I find myself talking to myself - " dont look down" " boy what fun it is to see how they grow tea!" How much longer am I going to be in this thing??"
well I got off and EVERY TAIWANESE ASKED ME TO TAKE A PICTURE OF THEIR FRIENDS and themselves. At first it was fun but when the 20th group of people asked me I started to wonder what was it about me - THE ONLY TOURIST IN TAIPEI- that every one wanted me to take their picture... I don't know ... but i decided,,,,

I hate tea, I dont want to drink tea alone.. so I finally asked someone to take a picture of me and down the gondola I went.



Advertisement



3rd September 2008

i think you are so funny
loved the story...keep exploring.
3rd September 2008

This is great!
What a great website and format! I've never heard of it before. Sounds like a real adventure. Keep writing! I can't wait to hear more! Don't forget about the cheap massages. After a day running around so much, it's just what you need. Love, Rose
3rd September 2008

You have such courage to venture out by yourself, Kol Hacavod!!! I would have opted for Oprah !! Sounds like your having great experiences. Keep it up girl !!!
3rd September 2008

braver then me
I always have a panic attack the first FEW days I am in a new country. I am not brave enough to take the train, fear of getting lost underground overwhelms me- I prefer to wak a few hours above ground, keep my perspective and know my landmarks. I am soooooooooo impressed.
3rd September 2008

I cann't wait for the next instalment better than serugim! hope jeff is successful at his work, he is missing all your fun. hugs, edna
3rd September 2008

FANTASTIC
KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK HAVE US ALL IN MIND
3rd September 2008

Shlomot
Hi there is also Dead Sea?
3rd September 2008

Is there going to be a test on this stuff?

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb