Ximending and Longshan Temple


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei » Ximending
September 27th 2009
Published: September 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ximending



Ximending (isn't that a nice word to say, go on say it again)is one of the last areas of the city we have left to explore. It's traditionally been the place to go to watch a film as it has so many cinemas. From what I've read it was hit pretty hard by the opening of the more modern cinemas and shopping malls in the east of the city so the government pedestrianised the main shopping area which has completely revitalised it. It now has over twenty cinemas and is the shopping hub of Western Taipei. It's predominately a young area with gaggles of teenagers perusing fashionable clothing shops and mandopop bands performing live in the street. There are also a million and one different places to eat whether you want traditional Chinese, Japanese or fast food. Getting there couldn't be easier. 1 stop on the westbound blue MRT line from Taipei Main station takes you into Ximen station. Exit 6 leads you out into the pedestrianised area. It's great to be able to walk around on wide thoroughfares without the hazards of cars or scooters again. That's definitely something I've missed from back home. It reminds me of Nampodong in Busan or Myeongdong in Seoul. Perhaps not quite as shiny or busy but there's a similar buzz to the place.

I've been quite cunning choosing Ximending as today's place to visit. Melissa has been working all weekend covering Ron's classes (he of the noisy cat) so she's knackered. We're both also skint so I know she's not going to want to spend a great deal of time wandering around the shops. We have a nice stroll around and take in the sights and sounds before grabbing a lunch. Subway catches my eye. I've not had a Subway in ages and a 12 inch meatball marinara with extra chili would go down a treat right now. However, being a gent I let Melissa decide and she opts for a more traditional Chinese option. This turns out to be great too and I'm delighted that my bowl of pork and noodles comes with fried chicken on the side.


Longshan Temple



Just one stop further west from Ximending is Longshan temple. The largest temple in the area. As we're close by I decide to scoot along and have a look. Melissa is knackered so I arrange to meet her at home and we separate. I know nothing about temples and in my whole time in Korea neglected to visit a single one. My research tells me that Longshan serves both Taoists and Buddhists. I'm not religious but Buddhism has always struck me as one of the more benign religions so I'm interested to see what goes on there. I have never really heard of Taoism. I imagine it's similar to Buddhism but am unlikely to expend much energy finding out. Longshan was originally constructed in 1738 but has been destroyed and rebuilt several times. Most recently in 1945 when it was bombed by the US. So I get to the temple and it's very impressive and it's heaving with people. Everyone in there is praying, there's soothing music being played and the air is thick with incense. I'm not going to waffle on about spiritualism and how it's a profoundly humbling experience because that would be a lie and a pretentious one at that. It is however much more interesting than I expected. I'm slightly taken aback at the intensity of the place. There's a lot of active participation and a queuing system that I don't understand. People are chanting and waving incense sticks. I keep to the edges and observe. At first I try and be subtle with my camera but after I spot some Taiwanese taking photos I start snapping away blatantly. No one seems to mind. Buddhists are a pretty chilled out bunch after all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb