LUNAR NEW YEAR


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei » CKS International Airport
January 28th 2006
Published: April 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It was Lunar New Year- January 28, 2006! I was off to Taiwan -Taipei on my own. I knew Holly from Markham ONtario was teaching near Taipei because I had been talking to her when I was thinking about teaching there. We had planned to meet at least one day. SHe booked me a cheap hotel. The QUEEN hotel and they spoke NO English! haha.
Thami was staying at the Grand Hotel about 15 minutes across town. I tried to use the phone to call them both it took a long time to figure out!!!!!! GRRR.
I met Thami for a late lunch at his nice hotel. Then we went touring around the city to see some temples.
We were anxious to explore the night life as well but it was quite because of Chinese New Year. We met a guy from Switzerland who took us around for the entire night ot eat dinner and to check out various areas in Taipei . Have a look at the pics!

The next day we went walking around and tried to see some other temples! It was so crowded!!!
I went to the famous Night Market. It had so much food and clothes and other INTERESTING things. I bought some great things!
Like Korea the clothes were small. boo hoo
On Monday I met Holly and Greg and we toured Taipei. It was nice to meet some fellow Canadians ! We went shopping too. It was a beautiful day! We tried to go up 101 building but again it was so busy there! We just had fun chattign about living in Asia (KOREA, JAPAN and TAIWAN)!
On Tuesday , I headed back to Seoul, I met some nice Americans who were living in Seoul . We had met on the way into Taiwan so we exchanged numbers to hang out in Seoul! All in ALl it was a great trip and I got bumped to FIRST CLASS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
That's all for now
I was happy to get back to Korea .... Taiwan was more of a culture shock!


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Views from the Grand Hotel In TaipeiViews from the Grand Hotel In Taipei
Views from the Grand Hotel In Taipei

Foggy Day.. Taipei is a big city but quite polluted
Views from the Grand Hotel In TaipeiViews from the Grand Hotel In Taipei
Views from the Grand Hotel In Taipei

Foggy Day.. Taipei is a big city but quite polluted
Views from the Grand Hotel In TaipeiViews from the Grand Hotel In Taipei
Views from the Grand Hotel In Taipei

Raining but hot and humid!
Some very urban areasSome very urban areas
Some very urban areas

Raining but hot and humid!
Beautiful temple nearbyBeautiful temple nearby
Beautiful temple nearby

Raining but hot and humid!
Beautiful temple nearbyBeautiful temple nearby
Beautiful temple nearby

very peaceful in teh big city
Incense was burning everywhere- I couldn't even go inside the building to do some readingIncense was burning everywhere- I couldn't even go inside the building to do some reading
Incense was burning everywhere- I couldn't even go inside the building to do some reading

Thami went inside. I stayed out because my eyes were burning


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb