First Taiwan pictures!


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Tainan
July 18th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

lthough I am not feeling very creative at the moment, due to much demand, I must use my lunch break to post an entry. I might not write much, but at least you'll get to see some pictures :-)

I am slowly adjusting to the city, although I still haven't seen much of it. The area I live in is known as Anping, and it's closest to the ocean. It will be a quick ride for me to get to the beach once I get a scooter. I'm still a little nervous about driving on the road with these crazy drivers, and I need to get a driver's license first. So far, my days have been spent as follows:
1. Wake up & shower (sit in the bathtub with the detachable hose really - if I stand, water gets all over the floor,) 2. Eat something quick, like this yummy Mandarin Orange yogurt I found & get an iced coffee nearby, 3. Walk about 10 minutes to get to school, 4. Observe other teachers in their classes & interact with the adorable children, 5. Walk home around 4:45/5 and keep myself busy so I don't fall asleep too eary.
Utter confusion!
Utter confusion!
25 hours later, I arrive in Taipei...no luggage & no idea which bus to take to the train station. It seemed like no one spoke English & I most certainly don't know Chinese 😊

I absolutely love it at the school, so hopefully that won't change once I am teaching. I'm sure it will be somewhat stressful for this perfectionist, but I think it will be primarily fun. I have met many of my students for next year and will post a few pictures on here that I just took. Nelson is adorable & apparently he likes me....his mom told the Chinese teacher that "he likes pretty girl." HAHA. I love their names - "Ocean," "Apple," "Angelina," and "Pinky" come to mind 😊 I have watched Math lessons, Reading, P.E., and Circle Time so far.

What else can I tell you about Tainan so far? Oh, they don't flush toilet paper....even when they do a #2!!! No, there is a trash bin next to each toilet, and that is where the tissue goes! I'm getting used to it, but I don't think I'll ever do it for #2...haha 😊 It's a pretty dirty city, but I've heard much of Asia is similar. Sometimes, there is a strange smell in the air....People stare at me a lot when I'm out on the street, especially the children. I was saying hi to one baby, and
My first supper
My first supper
Moe's - Taiwanese fast food...I ate a teriaki chicken burger - mmm 😊
he started crying because he was so scared of me! Last night, I ate dinner for $1.50! It was Pork & Pineapple fried rice - yummy! Lunch is free & pretty health at the school - good too! Ugh...it's so hot & humid here that I'm sweating constantly!

Oh, my suitcases arrived, so I unpacked last night. It was like Christmas! Although, I realized that I brought too many pairs of long pants and need some more breathable outfits 😊 I think this skirt I'm wearing will become my favorite! My friend Risa is visiting tonight, so I am super excited! She'll visit the school with me tomorrow morning, then we will explore the city. On Saturday, we are probably going to visit another town/city, so I will definitely take tons of pictures and share them! Keep the messages coming....I need to hear about my friends in the U.S. b/c I'm a bit homesick 😞




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



19th July 2007

TP
Hi Alison, Loved the pictures. Your apt. looks great. Sorry you have no air conditioning. I had to mention that when we had our exchange student from Brazil, she did not put the tp in the toilet. It took us about 5 mths to realize that. Kathy noticed what was in the trash can. I had to tell her that she COULD put the paper in the toilet. It was a shock to us. Sounds like you are getting use to things. The students are adorable! Gosh, Andrew might come over??? Neat. Love, Ann
19th July 2007

awesome!
hey alison, doesn't look like i need to say have fun! what an awesome adventure. i'm living vicariously through you and John!
24th July 2007

Wow!
Alison! It looks like such a neat experience. I'm so glad that you had a friend come and visit you. I'm sure that will help with the home sickness. You are taking beautiful pictures and I'm so jealous you are doing something so neat. Keep posting the blogs, they are wonderful!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb