Life in Lotus Land, Chapter 35: Taipei and Graduation


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Hualien
June 11th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Friends Across the WaterFriends Across the WaterFriends Across the Water

Alan and Jean and family.
There are a few videos in this chapter--and I know that they will be of limited interest other than to foreigners who have lived in Taiwan and have now gone home. One of the biggest hits, believe it or not, was the musical garbage truck from a few chapters ago! Quite a few people asked for a copy of it. It’s a bit disconcerting really—all the filming and snapping I’ve been doing over the last two years, and the common response is “What a cool garbage truck? Could you send me a copy?”

We are back now, from a marvelous yet bittersweet weekend in Taipei. It was Dragon Boat Festival, and the trains were very crowded. We got to Kim and Stephanie’s place mid-evening on Friday—early enough to have a good long talk before bedtime. The next morning we took the MRT to Muzha (close to where we lived) for a farewell lunch with Alan and Jean.

It could be years before we see any of our Taipei friends again. Kim and Steph had a cookout after church. It was nice to have a feed of hamburgers and hot dogs and potato salad—we rarely have western food over here.
Teacher Ashley and GraceTeacher Ashley and GraceTeacher Ashley and Grace

"I declare Major Wilkes, Grace is the smartest girl in shoe leather!" I had just finished a lesson--that's why I'm so sweaty.


To say that saying goodbye was a “pensive” moment for us is an understatement.

Tuesday June 10, 97 has been a day of topsy-turvy emotions for me. Graduation Day. I was given children two years ago, and now young men and women are moving on to the next stage of their lives.

Chinese people express emotion differently from us, and in general tend to be less demonstrative. Or so I thought. Kids were crying—even the tough guys. Teachers were crying. However, I guess it’s better for teachers to cry in June when the kids leave, as opposed to September when they arrive! Some of the grade nine girls hugged me. They initiated, which surprised me. Chinese people don't normally hug (except family and loved ones). I guess western ideas are sneaking in, but I've been around Chinese people long enough to feel uncomfortable with hugs.

Principal Lin asked me to present some awards. Even after two years, I am still confused. We Canadians bow only to Her Majesty, and only military personnel wearing headdress are supposed to salute. When in Rome…

I bowed and saluted.

If I have done one thing right in the
Grace is Our ChampionGrace is Our ChampionGrace is Our Champion

She really got good from all her her hard work for the speech contest.
last two years, I have increased the kids’ comfort level with foreigners.

Speaking of Rome…I have crossed the Rubicon. I have promised Suzanne that we will live in Canada. I might from time to time bop away for short assignments, but we need to be based in Canada from now on. Barring the horrendous expense of everything at home, it’s pretty nice to live there.

I took her car into the shop the other night, because the turn signals weren’t working. The mechanic replaced two bulbs, checked all the belts and hoses, and topped up my coolant—no big deal, it’s just water here. Chinese numbers don’t confuse me very ofen but this time they did—maybe because of what I was expecting the fellow to say. The bill was wu se quai, and for some reason I was thinking in Canadian prices and heard wu bai quai. I went home to get some more money, so I could pay the $15 Canadian I thought he had said, instead of the $1.50 he was asking for!

Dinners this weekend should be fun. June (teaches Chinese) is taking Lao-puo and I out for dinner on Friday night. She speaks very
Ivy and SusanIvy and SusanIvy and Susan

Ivy in particular is "personality plus". It is a joy to teach these girls.
limited English, so Lao-puo's Mandarin lessons will get a workout. Yvonne (the train attendant) is taking us out on Saturday night. It's too bad her husband is working, because he sounds like a good guy from what she says about him.

Let the games begin! If you can call flogging stuff we don’t want, selling my beloved little motorbike, and packing up to be games. We really need to get down to business this weekend.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

My Buddy Andy...My Buddy Andy...
My Buddy Andy...

...is not always a joy. I have worked long and hard to gain his trust and esteem, and I now have both. He is big and strong and brave and loyal to his friends. I have been encouraging him towards a military career.
The Gym Never Looks as Good...The Gym Never Looks as Good...
The Gym Never Looks as Good...

...as it does for the graduation ceremony.
Awards PresentationAwards Presentation
Awards Presentation

I did some of the prize-giving, but I had to watch carefully because neither bowing nor saluting is common in western culture
Carol ·Wants to be a Nurse.Carol ·Wants to be a Nurse.
Carol ·Wants to be a Nurse.

I told her that I won't get sick until after she graduates, then I'll come back to Taiwan for her to look after me.
Debbie Read "A Little Horse Named Farmer"...Debbie Read "A Little Horse Named Farmer"...
Debbie Read "A Little Horse Named Farmer"...

...for the speech contest last November.
Barbara is in the Sports ClassBarbara is in the Sports Class
Barbara is in the Sports Class

When it comes to soccer, smart money's on the Guangfu girls!
Teachers' LunchTeachers' Lunch
Teachers' Lunch

This was just the appetizer. What a feast!


12th June 2008

I can feel your emotion in this blog Doug. Graduation has two faces: A new chapter in students' lives, but a very sad time saying goodbye. I taught for 3 years at a college in Shantou and witnessed buckets of tears by both students and teachers.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb