Dikwella, Sri Lanka.


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Western Province » Negombo
October 29th 2010
Published: October 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Now where was I? Ah, after the safari and seeing the all elusive leopard.

The next morning we left Tissa for a beach called Dikwella. Sam certainly knows where the best places to stay are. This small 8 roomed hotel was right on the beach with beautiful gardens and friendly staff and dogs! The Kadolana Beach Hotel had been hit hard during the Tsunami and there were photos of the devastation to prove it. Hard to believe now.

The beach had beautiful white sand and rolling waves, I loved it. I was there for the full moon and it was a huge yellow ball rising up over the ocean and the glow reflected on the foam of the waves. There were large bats and lots of glowing fire flies, very romantic, well it could have been. I think I may have had a few drinks with my driver that night!

I had read about a small Buddhist cave temple so that I visited (see the photos) and also saw a great blow hole. Everyone screamed as the water built up and then, whoosh, up it shot, a great plume of water and we all got soaked.

I had three nights there and probably could have stayed a whole week but I wanted to see other beaches that I had heard about. So I packed yet again, I'm getting really good at that.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb