Colombo Bolombo


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Western Province » Colombo
January 16th 2014
Published: March 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The bus ride to Colombo was about three hours. We arrived at the Concord Grand Hotel, which is actually pretty nice and has a great pool, around 2:00 and since Danielle was leaving for the airport that night, she and I and Nicole left the hotel and went exploring. On the local bus. It was surprisingly easy to find what we were looking for, which was the Cinnamon Gardens area of Colombo. But we got totally ripped off on the bus. The guy who was taking the money told us it was 18 rupees, but we thought he said 80. Each. So he just went with it and took our money, but one of us needed change and I noticed that from 100 rupees, he gave 50 in change and walked away. So that got us thinking. Our return to the hotel many hours later actually only cost 13 rupees. The bus was pretty well decorated and was a mix of men and women. No one hassled us, but a few people looked pretty amused. We were using a Lonely Planet map to figure out where we were and it was super easy to find.

First impression of Colombo? It was clean. Nothing like India. The streets were clean and it was very easy to walk. It is a very walkable city, although I'm sure there are areas we didn't see that are probably pretty rough. The Cinnamon Gardens area is an upscale shopping area, so of course, it is clean and well kept. But during my 2 1/2 days in Colombo, what I saw was clean and easy to walk.

After a bit of shopping and dinner at Paradise Cafe, which is totally worth it, Danielle headed to the airport and Nicole and I walked to Odel which is a big department store in Colombo. They run a charity which provides for the street dogs. And then we took the bus back to the Concord Grand Hotel. A tuk tuk driver tried telling us buses weren't running anymore since it was after 8PM, but our bus was right behind him. Haha!! We rode back for 13 rupees, but went too far and ended up taking a tuk tuk the short distance back to the hotel. We must have found the only tuk tuk driver who actually knew where our hotel was. And he didn't try to rip us off.

The next morning Nicole and I had breakfast and said goodbye to a few more people from the tour who were leaving, and then we laid by the pool for a while. After a quick shower, we got a tuk tuk to the Galle Face Hotel so I could check in. It is a beautiful hotel, elegant without being pretentious. My room was small but so lovely. After I checked in, Nicole and I walked to the fort area which is a couple of kilometers away. There is very little left of the fort walls, but the fort area has some great shops, restaurants, cafes, hotels, and several large banks. And the Oriental Hotel has a great view of the port from the tiny bar area on the roof. By tiny, I mean two tables outside.

We had dinner at a Thai restaurant for 600 rupees and it was fantastic. Had some coffee at Heladin Tea Club. Love that cafe. I even went back the next day. We walked back to my hotel along the Galle Face Green and did some people watching. Nicole headed back to her hotel before it got too dark and I went to the Galle Face bar out by the pool for a few drinks. So nice. Perfect weather. Relaxing. Three Cuba libres later, I was an especially happy camper.

I didn't do much the next day. I went for a long walk the next morning in search of a store called Barefoot and while it is on the Lonely Planet map, I couldn't find it and I walked the part of the city where it was supposed to be twice. I ended up with a latte from McDonald's and walked back to the hotel to relax by the pool. For a long time. Then I walked to the fort area for lunch and on the way back, I bought a mango from a street vendor. They slice them, put them in plastic bags, and add chili. I ate the whole thing before I got back to my hotel. It was delicious. I immediately wanted another one.

I just relaxed at the hotel the rest of the day. Fantastic end to a great holiday. I was quite impressed with how clean and organized and uncrowded Colombo was. The traffic wasn't even bad. I really enjoyed my time in the city, but it's possible my amazing hotel had something to do with that.

I left for the airport the next morning. Checked out without a problem. They arranged a taxi for me and I was on my way. Great holiday and one I will not forget.


Additional photos below
Photos: 73, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Coffee Cup ChandelierCoffee Cup Chandelier
Coffee Cup Chandelier

In Paradise Cafe - great food
BookendsBookends
Bookends

In the shop in Paradise Cafe
Aww. Aww.
Aww.

Outside a department store called Odel, which is famous in Sri Lanka. They support a charity that provides for street dogs.
Awesome Rain ShowerAwesome Rain Shower
Awesome Rain Shower

Galle Face Hotel - totally worth it.


Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.1569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb