Saving Face


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Southern Province » Weligama » Kapparathota
January 8th 2014
Published: January 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The first few weeks of our trip we were so focused on finding depth for freediving that we ignored the many swimming possibilities in Weligama Bay. After our tour of the rest of the country we are back in beach territory and have made it a priority to check out all the rocks and islets.

Matt and I are quite comfortable in tidal current and cold water, but conditions are very different here. The Bay is shallow and there is a lot of surf that sometimes breaks way out, and strong surge. All of this creates different currents that I have no experience in, so it's been fun learning how to swim in a different environment. Matt has been very patient teaching me how to enter and exit through waves (the South is known as a surfing destination) and I've only been tossed hard once, incurring a bruised knee when I misjudged a wave and it slammed me into the beach. There was a lot of sand in my bathing suit that night. We both are learning about the riptide off the fisherman's beach. The other day we swam in place for a good 1/2 hour, staring at the same piece of coral on the bottom. It felt like swimming in one of those infinity pools, working hard but getting nowhere.

Something I didn't consider before coming was how badly we'd be affected by the sun and the high salinity of the sea. Last year at this time I was swimming in the north Pacific and the only limiting factor was the cold. We have been able to protect ourselves from the sun somewhat by wearing skins, but after 30 minutes or so our mouths, sinuses and throats feel raw from the amount of salt in the water and I'm not sure what we can do about that. Hopefully we'll adapt somewhat.

Matt has been mapping out the swims using Google Earth. So far we've only attempted short swims and haven't been in for more than 50 minutes at a time.

Fishermen have thrown us some odd looks as they passed in their catamarans; when we asked why they told us because people just don't usually swim this far off the beach here. We thought this fear of the ocean may be a result of the Tsunami that devastated the south but they tell us it isn't.
Dry SurfingDry SurfingDry Surfing

Matt with Rasad


One of our young fisherman friends Rasad teases us non-stop about swimming. He loves to bet and always challenges us to arm wrestles that he wins easily. So yesterday I challenged him to a 1km swim out to one of the rock islets. Matt will officiate and the winner gets to put make-up on the loser and make him/her take a walk around Kapparathota. I really hope I win because he accepted the bet with gusto and said he can't wait to make a canvas of my face.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



10th January 2014

It's On!
GO ROBERTA! I am so anxious to see a picture of Rasad in makeup!!!!
13th January 2014

Swimming in Sri Lanka
Sounds like you are still having a great time in the Sun and surf - yes even I was astonished over the ferocity of the Sun after decades of Vancouver living. Willigama Bay is a bout 1km across, but I found the taste of diesel unpleasant and gave-up on finding a better place for protect long swims - also the fishing vessels could be hassle as they try and come too close to see who is mad enough to swim so far out. Anyway don't give up and let us know if you find anything great - for next time. Love Joe
13th January 2014

Yup
Hi Joe, We have been swimming out to rocks and back to give ourselves a bit more distance but only managed 2km. Yes, the fishermen are really interested but they haven't been too bad - maybe you broke the ice for us : ) The one time Matt & I did go out on a boat the smell was so bad I ended up getting sick. Our friend told us its because their outboards run on kerosene!!
13th January 2014

Randomly stumbled across your blog...
Hey Matt (and Roberta), Shane from DFO here...too funny I was checking my travelblog and who do i see as a featured blogger of the week, none other than you two...looks like Sri Lanka is awesome and treating you well...Teri and I just got back from an impromptu 3 week trip to Colombia (look our blog up we are called BUCKALYN)...anyhow, keep livin the dream and can you add me to your subscriber list please, thanks guys. shane_kalyn@hotmail.com

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb