Sri Lanka or Scotland on a bad day?


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Southern Province » Tangalle
October 24th 2010
Published: October 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Nurawa Eliya was FREEZING! I couldn’t believe it. Maybe for that reason it didn’t impress me. It says in the Lonely Planet that Nurawa Eliya can be a bit like Scotland, damp and wet. Yes, it is.

We drove through many tea plantation along the way which are always pretty and did some tea tasting too. Trust me to like the most expensive. I bought just a small amount.

The hotel we stayed at in Nurawa Eliya (pronounced Newrelia) was old fashioned but lovely and they had a pool table. So after dinner Sam and I decided to have a few games. Naturally he beat me every time although I didn’t disgrace myself too badly. But the room was far too small and half the time we had out cues up the wall. It made for a few laughs. (This would not have happened with Grumpy gums Sepala, the old driver.)

I slept well, the arrack probably helped and so did the hot, hot shower and the two big fluffy blankets.

The next morning we were off to Ella in anticipation of a beautiful place and good weather.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0782s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb