the truth about the "Beach Boys"


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Southern Province » Tangalle
December 26th 2009
Published: December 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have been on a mission for the past few days to find out the truth about “beach boys”. Who are they, how old are they, what do they do and why do they do it?

During my first few days at Peace Beach (Aman = peace, Wella = beach) I of course noticed a lot of attention from the boys on the beach. I assumed the I was receiving such attention becuase I was a foreigner, and because I was a girl (we get used to this so I just saw it as normal). Nothing goes further than kind gestures, short conversations in broken English, and small gifts (I have received some nice little shells, and even some home made ayruvedic oil for mosquito bites). Being an educated, traveling, and independant woman, I knew to keep my boundaries and be aware of my interactions. And now only a week and a half later (is this too long? or was I quick to catch on?) I know the truth.

“Beach Boys” are prostitutes!! Sri Lanka is a place for female Sex Tourism: when Western woman vacation solo (or with another girlfriend of two) seeking out romance in paradise. In return for company and sex, the females take their beach lovers out shopping (for shoes, clothing, jewelery etc), out for dinner, on day trips, and sometimes even let them stay at their hotel with them. These flings can last as little as a few hours, or as long as a few years!! Some woman have been known to send money and gifts to their beach lovers long after they have left paradice.

To find out the truth of this matter, I have been interviewing people all over the resort here. They don’t act surprised when I ask them. “Yes, it is normal” they say and “I have many friends that are beach boys”.

It is simply their job. These boys can range anywhere in age, but particularly 18-late 20’s (child sex tourism is another story I don’t even dare to get into) and the woman can range anywhere in age, even quite old ladies. Sometimes these men are even married and are “beach boys” to support their wives and children. When there are no jobs for the men, they become “beach boys” and fulfill the woman’s fantasy of paradise romance.

So now it all makes sense! Two old Italian ladies (i’d say 60’s) got in trouble for bringing one of the local “beach boys” up to the pool. They were buying him deserts and drinks. The managers here told him they couldn’t have locals coming up here to the resort, and they knew why. Later that day I saw one of those same ladies walking on the beach with another boy, holding his hand!! i started to get the hint. Later that night, I introduced myself to a young couple and asked them where they were from. They were pretty close so I assumed they were a couple, “She’s from Germany” replied the man. So I realised he was local and she was his sugar momma for the week.

So this is what those charming young lads on the beach down below Amanwella have been up to. And I have been told that they automatically think that any white or Western woman coming to the beach is looking for a beach lover. Well the “beach boys” do not fool me, and as far as they are concerned, I am married and my husband is up at the pool!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb