My Cultural Trip South


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Southern Province » Bentota
February 17th 2007
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well here I am in the south, I have visited Galle, Marissa and lots of other places whose names I cannot spell.

I went to an amzing mask museum today which was very interesting. In ancient times Sri Lankans used the mask to ward off evil, some were used in exorcisms and like the ancient Greeks they also used them in plays to re-tell myths and legends. All the masks are hand carved and are very intricate. I'm having problems downloading my photos today so I will do a complete Gallery of this weekend's photos asap.

I have also visited a few more Temples, think I'm a bit templed out right now, but they are beautiful and worth seeing.

Well, heading back to Colombo tonight which means I can relax tomorrow, which is Sunday, Friday was a bank holiday so I've had an extra day off which was nice, am starting to feel tired now.

Well that's all for now, only one more week to go.

xxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb